Buttered Rum Frosting

buttered rum frosting

Hi friends!  Well the holidays are really sneaking up on us.  I can’t believe Christmas is less than two weeks away…..yikes!  I made some cupcakes a few weeks ago and came up with this great frosting.  It is basically a buttercream frosting using rum extract rather than vanilla.  It turned out really yummy!  I thought it would be perfect for this time of year.

There are many ways to enjoy this frosting.  Think of adding this to the top of gingerbread or a layered chocolate cake.  Maybe you could change up the traditional red velvet cake or carrot cake using this frosting.  The possiblities are endless.  I’m thinking orange cake with buttered rum frosting….oh yum!  Why is that reminding me of a mixed drink?   Why do I always revert back to alcohol?

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this very much.

With Love,

Donna

BUTTERED RUM FROSTING

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 cups confectioners sugar

1 tsp rum extract

1-2 tbsp milk

With electric mixer, mix all ingredients until well combined.  To thicken, add more sugar or to thin out add more milk.  ENJOY!

19 thoughts on “Buttered Rum Frosting

  1. Ohhhhh yummmmm. I can put this on so many things, thank you so much! It’s the perfect frosting. 🙂
    You’re Etsy shop is so nice! There’s a lot of cute things in there, congratulations!

Comments are closed.