Spicy Steak and Black Bean Chili

I know you have all heard me say it before, but this is truly my most favorite time of year!  I love when the leaves are changing and it is cool and brisk outside.  These kind of days are perfect for eating soups, stews and chili.  Something to warm you up on the inside when it starts getting cold outside.  I guess there is also something nostalgic about this time of year.  There are a lot of memories of get togethers with friends and family to watch football games and celebrate Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Sometimes I wish my son was still a little one because there is so much fun enjoying the holidays through the eyes of a child.

So many special memories, and somehow food is always right in the center of it all.  Like I said before, this time of year is perfect for chili eating.  The chili I am sharing today is really yummy, warm and delicious!  It is a little different take on traditional chili using black beans rather than kidney or pinto beans and steak rather than ground beef.  I like to change it up sometimes.  In fact my sister and I just made a white chicken chili using ground cloves in it rather than the usual chili spices, oh my was it good!  It is just nice to have it different ways sometimes.

I do hope you enjoy this chili very much and I hope you serve it up to a large group of friends and family and create some beautiful memories!

SPICY STEAK AND BLACK BEAN CHILI

2 lbs top sirloin

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

3 (15 oz) cans black beans

2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes

2 (4.5) cans chopped green chilies

1 onion, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 (12 oz) can beer

1 chili kit (like 2 alarm)

Toppings: sour cream, chopped scallions, grated cheese or cilantro.

Heat oil in skillet and brown the top sirloin.  After evenly browned, place in a slow cooker.  Add remaining ingredients minus the masa and red pepper flakes that are in the chili kit.  Give it a good stir.  Slow cook on LOW for 8 hours.

Source: Southern Living Magazine

14 thoughts on “Spicy Steak and Black Bean Chili

  1. A good Chili truly is great comfort food. Never had it will black beans and chunky pieces of beef. Really like the look of this … so on file it goes. Wonder when I will be able to all the wonderful recipes I have been collecting.

  2. Fall is also my favorite time of the year. Most sedimental to me and all of the food during this time of year is very comforting. Steak instead of ground beef is a lovely idea. What is a chili kit?

    1. A chili kit is a little package that has different seasonings that you normally find in chili. There are several different brands out there but 2-alarm chili kit is the one I usually find in my area. I hope that helps! Thank you!

Comments are closed.