Pumpkin Creme Brulee

 

 

 

Hi friends!  Well, it’s that time of year again.  The time of year when the leaves are falling and changing all of their beautiful colors of red, orange, gold and copper.  So stunningly beautiful!  Football is on every television, the days are filled with cool, crisp breezes and the holidays are right around the corner.  All of these things make this my favorite time of year.  It also makes me start going through all of my recipes, especially the great holiday recipes that I have found along the way.  Oh my!  There are so many.  Like the one I am sharing today.

I came across this recipe about a year ago and knew I had to make it.  This time of year is a no brainer….it’s gotta be something pumpkin.  So when the family was getting together this weekend it was the perfect time for it, AND my mom requested it…..good idea mom!  I can’t wait to have it again!  It was very delicious and I think everyone was pleased!  I have to tell you, this was my first attempt at creme brulee……shhh!

So here it is and I hope you enjoy!

 

PUMPKIN CREME BRULEE

2 cups heavy cream

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 4 tsp

8 large egg yolks

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp grated nutmeg

1 cup mashed cooked pumpkin ( I used canned)

 

Preheat oven to 325F.

Arrange 8 (1/2 cup) ramekins in a large metal baking pan.

In a medium saucepan, combine the cream, brown sugar and 1/4 cup granulated sugar.  Bring to a bare simmer over med-high heat, stirring to dissolve the sugar.  Remove from heat.

In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks until frothy and lemon-colored.  Slowly add 3/4 cup of the hot cream mixture, whisking constantly.  Add the egg mixture to the remaining hot cream and whisk.   Add the vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg and pumpkin, and whisk until smooth.  Strain through a fine mesh strainer into a large bowl.  Divide among the prepared ramekins.

Add enough hot water to come halfway up the sides of the cups.  Bake until the custards are just set in the center but not stiff, 45-55 minutes.  Remove from the oven and refrigerate until well chilled, at least 3 hours or overnight.

Sprinkle each with 1/2 tsp sugar.  Using a kitchen torch, caramelize the sugar.  You could also place under the broiler until the sugar caramelizes, but watch closely and rotate the cups to avoid burning.  Place on small dessert plates and serve.

This recipe courtesy of Emeril Lagasse on Food Network.

22 thoughts on “Pumpkin Creme Brulee

  1. One day I will break down and buy the kitchen torch a pretty creme brulee requires. Until then I;ll just admire these… and with pumpkin!!! Yes.

    Wanted to leave you a quick note letting you know that I changed the hosting for Sugar Dish Me so it won’t appear in your wp.com reader anymore. The address is still the same http://www.sugardishme.com/ and if you’d re-subscribe via email or rss feed that’d be so great! Thanks so much for reading Sugar Dish Me!

    And for posting a recipe for pumpkin creme brulee 🙂

  2. My absolute favorite dessert is cream brulee and now with the addition of the pumpkin to make it festive, I’m a very happy camper. I need a replacement torch as that is such a fun kitchen tool. Take Care, BAM

  3. This is something I really have to try – but I think my problem will be to find pumpkin puree – so I have to buy a little pumpkin and cook it. Really like this and I’m going to try it. So this will go on file.

Comments are closed.