Northern Bean Blondies

Okay, I am well aware that there are many skeptics out there when it comes to using beans in a dessert recipe, but you have got to trust me on this.  These blondies are so, so delicious and moist and full of flavor.  There is no taste of a bean in this blondie, I promise!  I wouldn’t want to taste the beans in my sweet treats….come on, really? Of course not!  So why put them in?  Because it replaces the flour, which has no nutritional value and adds much needed protein.  It is totally a win win recipe!  The people I share these blondies with have no idea they are made with beans and they LOVE them!  They are amazed when I tell them I used beans.  So please trust me and give these blondies a try!

I recently made black bean brownies and shared them with all of you.  Some of you took the coffee out and liked them better.   Although I did like them, I had hoped the texture would be more fudge like.  So I made some changes and these blondies turned out closer to the texture I prefer.  They were so moist you could mold it in your hands.  Yum!  I recommend trying different flavors to find your favorite.  I made a batch with coconut and banana extract in it.  I liked them okay, but my favorite so far is the one I am sharing today.  Also, the timing may be a little different with these, so start checking after the recommended time, but it may take a little longer.

I like it when we all get in the kitchen and play and experiment and come up with new and wonderful creations for everyone to try.  I can’t wait to see what other bean creations I can come up with using another bean variety.  Maybe I will change the name of my blog to The Bean Queen.  What do you think?  Ha!  Enjoy friends!

NORTHERN BEAN BLONDIES

1 can northern beans, rinsed and drained

4 eggs

3 tbsp coconut oil

Pinch of salt

1 tsp almond extract

1/2 cup agave

1/4 cup almonds

Put all ingredients minus almonds in a blender and blend.  Stir in almonds.  Pour into a lightly greased 8 x 8 baking dish.  Bake @ 350F or 30 minutes or until firm in the middle.

12 thoughts on “Northern Bean Blondies

    1. Yes, these were more dense than the black bean brownies, but very moist. The additional egg and omitting the baking powder probably contributed to that. Very good though!

  1. My sister has been having tummy troubles and is on a pretty restrictive diet – sugar AND gluten free. She’s a senior in college working two jobs and I love to send her little packages of prizes in the mail so she has something to eat besides ramen (which is very obviously NOT on her new meal plan). You just solved a MAJOR problem for me with this!!! So excited to try these. Thank you!

    1. Oh my goodness, I am thrilled that this is something she can eat and I’m glad you like the recipe. Yes, you could send her the blondies with the recipe attached! Thank you so much!

  2. This makes more intuitive sense to me than black bean brownies (I’ve never tried either) because I think white beans are sweeter and have a less pronounced flavor than black beans. Any idea about how much sugar or maple syrup to use in place of the agave, which I don’t have?

Comments are closed.