Fresh Berry Muffin Tops

Hi Everyone!  As I have shared with you before, I have been trying to eat a little healthier lately.  It is not always so easy but I am hanging in there and I have been doing better the last couple of weeks.  I do not like feeling like I am being deprived in some way,  so it seems that I am constantly trying to come up with healthy versions of some of my favorite foods. 

We were recently sent some of these wonderful treats called muffin tops.  They were so delicious.  They came in different flavors like carrot cake and chocolate chip.  Yummy!  If you have never had a muffin top, it is something between a cookie and a muffin, just like you cut the top off of a muffin.  I wanted to make a healthier version of this treat that I could have for a quick breakfast in the morning or enjoy as a healthy snack.  I decided to modify the recipe that I used for my healthy fig muffins and they turned out even better than I imagined.  They were oozing blueberries and blackberries in every bite!  I then froze them in a ziplock bag and when I am ready for one I just take it out and microwave or toast it for a fews seconds and just like that I have a healthy breakfast packed full of fruit, nuts and whole grain…..just perfect!

I do hope you enjoy my friends!!!!

FRESH BERRY MUFFIN TOPS

1 1/2 cups multigrain cereal that has flaxseed

1 cup coconut milk

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup agave syrup

1/4 cup olive oil

2 eggs

1- 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries and blackberries

1/2 cup slice almonds

Preheat oven to 400F.  Combine cereal and milk and let sit for 5-10 minutes. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices. Mix the agave syrup, oil and eggs to cereal mixture until well blended.  Add flour mixture until combined.  Gently stir in fruit and almonds.  Place 1/4 cup of batter for each muffin top on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 13 minutes.  Makes 12 muffin tops.

17 thoughts on “Fresh Berry Muffin Tops

  1. These are awesome. Reminds me of that Seinfeld episode when Elaine says she only eats the muffin top and then her boss steals the idea and opens a store ‘Top of the Muffin to You’!

  2. Those look upmarket – multigrain cereal bars – the coconut milk … ticks a box for me. Not a cookie making person … but they look easy enough to do – so I let this go on file, never know what do my fancy next week.

  3. That’s a really wonderful idea!! A lot of people I know only love the tops of muffins! So this is definitely something I gotta bake!!

Comments are closed.