French Toast Bread Pudding

Hi everyone!  In my post yesterday, I promised that I would be sharing more of the delicious food that we had at our Mother’s Day brunch this weekend.  The recipe I am sharing with you today is one of the delicious recipes that my sister Sherry made for us.  It was very delicious and not overly sweet which my dad and my uncle liked because they are not big sweet eaters (I know, I know). 

Sherry will tell you she is not big on following recipes.  She tends to do her own thing.  I think that is great!  True to form she changed this one up a bit too.  She added cardamom to the list of ingredients and she also decided to make individual bread puddings rather than one big bread pudding…..so clever!  Oh how I wish I had some of this right now, with a big cup of coffee…mmmm…pure heaven!

I hope all of you will give a shout out to my sister and let her know how much you love this recipe and the others that I will be sharing with you during the week.  Stay tuned for some more yumminess.  ENJOY!!!

 

FRENCH TOAST BREAD PUDDING

1 (16 oz) Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl Bread, cut into cubes

3/4 c dried cranberries or raisins

6 eggs

3 cups half-and-half or milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

cinnamon sugar or confectioners’ sugar

whipped butter

maple syrup

Place the bread cubes and cranberries or raisins in a greased 3-qt shallow baking dish.  Beat the eggs, half-and-half and vanilla in a medium bowl with a fork or whisk.  Pour over the bread cubes.  Cover the dish and refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight. 

Uncover the dish.  Bake at 350F  for 45 minutes or until golden brown and set in the center.  Sprinkle with the cinnamon-sugar or confectioners’ sugar.  Serve with butter and syrup.  8 servings.

This recipe found at www.allrecipes.com

 

20 thoughts on “French Toast Bread Pudding

  1. Sherry is a lady after my own heart. I’m so not a recipe person and if I try to follow one, then I end up changing 100 things. Lovely bread pudding! Its one of my favorite sweet treats.

  2. oh wow! These look so perfect for breakfast!!! honestly, I feel that American hotels should serve more breakfast food like this!! Perfect bait for us travellers. 😀

  3. Oh, this not only looks yummy, but it has a snack-like quality to it. You know, where you can just dip your hand mindlessly into that cup and shovel delicious bits of bread into your mouth without realizing you devoured half a dozen cups. LOL!

    Wow, Donna, YUM!

  4. This is SUCH a great idea – I love, LOVE the idea of french toast as bread pudding. And your recipe seems so easy – what a great dessert to have in your arsenal to really impress guests! Thanks for sharing – I know I’ll definitely be making this —-

Comments are closed.