Triple Threat Chocolate Cookies

I have been holding on to this sweet little recipe for a few weeks now.  Boy, was today ever a day for chocolate……actually the whole week was sort of a “I need chocolate badly” kind of week.  But I am not going to get into all of that, as this is suppose to be a delightful little post to lift the spirits.  I mean the name is Triple Threat Chocolate, am I right?  So you didn’t come this way for anything more than to find out what how we are going to get those endorphins kickin’.  Well this deliciously sweet chocolatey wonderfulness will do it for you I promise!  This cookie has a slight crunchy exterior with a soft lovely middle and is oh so good with a glass of cold milk. 

I found this great little cookie over at letsspicethingsupinvegas.  Elly gave it a little bit of a different name but it is the same great cookie!  She stated in her post, that the base of this recipe is used in a lot of her cookie recipes.  She just changes a few key ingredients to give the cookie a completely different flavor and texture.  That is so clever!  I just LOVE recipes like this one, that can be so versatile and unique.  Go check out her different cookie recipes to see what I mean.  She has many wonderful recipes that I hope to try someday.

Oh, I so want another batch of theses sweet little lovlies right now!  I hope you will give them a try and most definetly ENJOY!!!!

Donna

TRIPLE THREAT CHOCOLATE COOKIES

1 stick butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup cocoa powder

4 tbsp nutella

1/2 c dark chocolate chips

In a bowl cream together butter, sugar, egg and vanilla until fluffy.  Add the flour, baking soda, salt and cocoa.  Beat until mixture starts coming together.  Add the nutella and beat until smooth.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  Refrigerate for 2 hours or freeze for 30 minutes.  Scoop with an ice cream scooper and place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake @ 350F for 10-12 minutes.  Makes 12 cookies.

18 thoughts on “Triple Threat Chocolate Cookies

  1. I sure wish you would email me the day before you plan to post! Knowing that, I could skip lunch the day that you post… ’cause, I swear, after reading your taste tingling narrative, scanning the recipe, and drooling over the photo… I’ve actually gained a pound, or two! (lol)
    I love your blog… keep ”em coming!

  2. Oh yum! Three of my favorites, chocolate, chocolate and nutella! I would probably eat at least six of these in one setting. 🙂

  3. Donna — Can eyes drool? Mine are. They are blinking the way lips smack in anticipation of a tasty treat. Truth be told, to me, one of the simplest but most satisfying desserts is the humble cookie. And if it is a chocolate cookie, all the better! Occasionally the Hubs and I will stop by Mrs. Fields and purchase a dozen nibblers. Those are my favorite because the size is one perfect bite; however, if I cut these beauties into fourths, I will have made nibblers! Either way, I’m making them.

    How are you? I didn’t miss the line in which you briefly mentioned a crummy week (no pun intended). Is there anything I can be praying about?

    Hope the weekend brings many joys and laughs, my friend. 🙂

    Love,
    Cara

    1. You are so incredibly sweet! Thank you for asking about my week. It did get much, much better but it always feels good for someone to care enough to ask and even offer prayers! I can always use prayers. Things are good, on that particular day I was dealing with tax stuff (ugh). Everyone needs chocolate on that day…lol. I like the idea of making little bite size cookies (nibblers). I think I will do that with the next cookie I make. Thanks Cara! Take care my friend.

      1. Oh, yes . . . I am quite familiar with tax catastrophes. Short story: one year, as I was working as a nanny, I was told 3 days before my taxes were due that I would be 1099’d. I then found out a day later that I owed 10,000. Needless to say, I had LOTS of chocolate that weekend 🙂
        So glad to hear that things improved, and I hope at the end of the day it was just a matter of getting it done and forgetting about the irritation and frustration it caused.
        Have a wonderful, wonderful Sunday!

      2. Cara, that is exactly what happened to me……I was 1099’d. I did some worked as an independant contractor, temporarily, between jobs. I was quite shocked to find out that that meant I would have to file as though I had a business (which cost more money) and yes, it also meant I owed more money…..lovely……okay, I’m off to bake more things chocolate!!! Hate that you went through that but glad to know you completely get it! Thanks, Donna

Comments are closed.