Lemon Artichoke Pesto with Parmesan Crisps

Hi everyone!  It is Good Friday and we are anticipating celebrating Easter Sunday with friends and loved ones.  As I visit my neighbors in the land of blog I am amazed at all of the wonderful recipes that are being shared for Easter.  Some traditional and some new ones that sound so fabulous.  I wish I could make them all!  I have one in mind to make, hopefully I will get to it!

Today I am sharing this wonderful lemon artichoke pesto.  I first had this at a wine tasting that I attended a few months back.  We had it with some sort of crackers.  It was so wonderful!  I decided to create my own version of this wonderful little tangy pesto.  I figured it had to be pretty basic.  Most pestos have fresh basil leaves, pine nuts and parmesan cheese.  So just add the artichokes and lemon and there you have it.  It turned out rather tasty.  It can be tweaked to your taste.

As I was putting together this post, I realized that this pesto sauce can be used so many different ways.  Not only is it a wonderful appetizer but you could also use this as a condiment on a sandwich, or toss it with some pasta, or you could use it as a base in a soup.  Think of a lemony artichoke chicken noodle soup……..oh my, this may be a post, coming to a blog near you.  Anyway, as you can see, this can be very versatile.  I sure hope you like this one.  ENJOY my friends!!!

With love,

Donna

 

LEMON ARTICHOKE PESTO

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup pine nuts

1/2 c parmesan cheese

1 lemon, zested and juiced

1/2 cup olive oil

1 clove garlic

1 tsp salt

1 14 oz can marinated artichoke hearts

I like the artichokes to have a bit of a rough chop to them, so I place all of the other ingredients in the food processor and mix them well and then add the artichokes and pulse the food processor two or three times.  If you would like the pesto to be smoother, then just combine all of the ingredients together and blend.   Enjoy!

This recipe from The Sugared Pecan.

 

PARMESAN CHIPS  (makes 32)

2 cups Parmesan cheese

2 tsp herbes de Provence

1/4 tsp black pepper

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Cover two jelly roll pans with parchment paper.

In a bowl, mix together the cheese, herbs and pepper.  Spoon tablespoons of the mixture onto the pans.  Press mounds down flat.

Bake for 4-5 minutes, until golden.  Cool completely and serve.

This recipe found in The Stocked Kitchen cookbook.

20 thoughts on “Lemon Artichoke Pesto with Parmesan Crisps

  1. My husband — who is NOT a morning person — just looked over my shoulder as I was bringing up your post, and with great emotion in his voice said, “What is that?”

    Needless to say, you now have TWO fans 🙂

    Hope you are having a wonderful week, Donna!

  2. Wow! I’m very impressed whenever people come up with their own recipes! I’m not the best at that and can only modify recipes. haha.. great job! I bet the pesto would make a very flavourful pasta!

Comments are closed.