Orange Pecan Biscotti

I love having my coffee in the mornings.  This little treat goes so well with a hot cup of coffee.  As a matter of fact, it’s kind of hard to eat without it if you ask me.  Biscotti is a hard crunchy cookie/biscuit type of food.  So it’s best when dipped in your warm coffee to soften it up a bit.  There is every flavor combination imaginable.  The recipe I adapted from used a yellow cake mix, but I decided to change the flavors a little so I used an orange cake mix instead.  Something about the orange and the pecan sounded so yummy to me.  Then add a little white chocolate drizzle and you have yourself a nice little treat.  You will be keeping the coffee on all day for this sweet treat!

Biscotti are very easy to make and a great treat to have on hand.  They store well in a plastic container or you can also freeze them to keep them fresh longer.  If you do this, then just take them out an hour or so before serving.

Here is the recipe.  ENJOY my friends!

ORANGE PECAN BISCOTTI

1 box orange cake mix

3/4 c flour

8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 tsp orange extract

2 eggs

1/3 cup pecans, chopped

1 c white chocolate morsels for drizzle (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Place parchment on baking sheet.  In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix, flour, butter, orange extract and eggs on low speed for 2 minutes.  Fold in pecans.  The mixture will be very thick.  Transfer to the baking sheet and with your hands, form a large rectangle, approximately 14 by 3 by 3/4 inches.  Bake for 30-35 minutes.  Remove from oven (leave oven on)  and cool for 10 minutes.  Using a sharp knife cut into 3/4-inch-thick slices on the diagonal.  Turn the slices on their flat sides and return to the oven.  Bake for 10 minutes more.  Remove from the oven and let cool completely on the pan.  Melt white chocolate according to package directions and drizzle over the biscotti.  You could also dip one end of the biscotti rather than drizzle if you like or leave it out all together.  ENJOY!

This recipe adapted from The Stocked Kitchen cookbook.

42 thoughts on “Orange Pecan Biscotti

    1. Well thank you so much! I am glad you liked it. They were good and really easy. I am so sorry the pb cookies didn’t turn out for you. I can’t imagine what happened. The refrigeration is not necessary but definetly helps handle it better. Thanks, Donna

  1. That is so funny. I baked two batches of almond biscotti this morning! I agree with you they go great with coffee. Yours look delicious. I will have to try orange and pecan next time.

    1. I have been talking with other bloggers, how it’s funny how things run in themes sometimes. Me and another girl I follow both made German pancakes the other day. I can’t way to see your biscotti!

  2. Yum biscotti! There seem to be alot of orange flavored recipes going around….which is wonderful for me since I love all things citrus right now. I’m gonna have to try my hand at biscotti some day. I really like the traditional almond flavored ones but orange might be a nice change.

  3. Oh, my goodness. Really? You do this to me after a weekend of cheating? I’m supposed to be getting back on the healthy-horse, not clinging to her bulbous underside 🙂

    The Hubs and are I making this together this upcoming weekend. He is a HUGE biscotti fan!

    Thank you for your amazing recipes!

    1. Yes do that! I love biscotti. It’s funny how reading blogs reminds you of some things you were wanting to do. It happens to me all the time. Thanks. Donna

  4. Thank you bunches for following my blog 🙂 I am a coffee JUNKIE. I adore biscotti but have never posted any because mine never turns out as pretty as this. It’s gorgeous! And orange… super yum.

  5. mmmm! So yummy!! Loove biscotti but never made them before!! Should try soon.. hehe.. There’s just so endless things to bake!! haha.. Great job!

  6. I love biscotti! I am a huge coffee drinker and biscotti happens to be my morning “cookie” of choice. And yes, I dip my biscotti in my coffee just like you :). I had no idea you could make it with cake mix though! Revolutionary! I’ll have to give it a try.

Comments are closed.