German Pancake

This is a delicious breakfast that I am sharing with you today.  I make this from time to time to change things up a bit from the everyday breakfast rut we get stuck in.  This is a popover-pancake hybrid known as a german pancake.  It has both flour and eggs (lots) in it to give it a completely different texture than the pancakes that we have become accustomed to.  It is one large pancake that feeds four people.  It also has the wonderful flavor combinations of vanilla and lemon zest intermingled throughout, which for me is just heaven!

Serve this delightful pancake with a sprinkle of confectioners’ sugar, a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and some raspberry preserves or with your favorite syrup.  This pancake with a side of fresh fruit is a perfect breakfast.  However you decide to serve it up, make sure you ENJOY!

GERMAN PANCAKE

4 large eggs

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup flour

1 Tbsp granulated sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp lemon zest

1/4 tsp kosher salt

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

confectioners’ sugar for serving

Heat oven to 425F.  In a blender, puree the eggs, milk, flour, granulated sugar, vanilla, lemon zest and salt until well combined.  Heat a medium to large 9-10″ cast iron skillet over medium heat to melt the butter.  After butter is melted, pour in the batter and transfer the skillet to the oven.  Bake until the pancake is puffed and golden, about 12-15 minutes.  Dust with confectioners’ sugar, if desired.

This recipe can be found at www.womansday.com .

14 thoughts on “German Pancake

    1. Yes, I suppose. I actually made it yesterday but didn’t get around to posting it because I wanted to get the award posted. It seems I have been seeing a lot of different pancakes and breakfast foods lately…..funny!

  1. WOW! That looks so wonderful! I think I’ve only seen this on the food network once before!! yummy 🙂 Can’t remember the German name for it but it looked so delightful!

  2. Oh I make a similar one called a Bismark, I got the recipe from my mom. They are so good. I like the way yours has lemon zest in it, I will have to try it. My mom’s has only two eggs but it ends up looking very similar. Funny how these recipes evolve and change and yet they look the same!

Comments are closed.