Homemade Pop Tarts

Who all remembers having Pop Tarts in the house growing up?  Well I definetly remember having them around and loving them.  Sometimes we would eat them straight out of the box and sometimes we would toast them.  I remember their being so many flavors to choose from….the pressure.  What I can’t remember is if we actually had these things for breakfast.  Wow, can you imagine the sugar high we were on?!  Especially if we had (and we usually did) the ones that had that sugary frosting on the outside.  No wonder my two sisters and I stayed in trouble.  We had no control over our actions.  It was the sugar.  It made us do things.

I was pleasantly surprised with these sweet little pastries.  I ate one while it was still warm, right out of the oven and it was just heavenly.  The crust was just perfect.  It was soft and somewhat flaky.  I had my doubts about how it might turn out.  I had to add a little bit more flour to the dough to make it workable and I was afraid it might make it tough.  It also stuck to my counter after I had my rectangles cut out and filling placed on top.  So I felt like I played around with the dough way to much.  I also forgot a couple of steps, the egg wash and the pricking of the dough which WILL cause the filling to ooze out of the sides.  So when I took them from the oven they looked much different than the recipe that I have adapted from.  But I tell you all of this to also tell you that even though they weren’t as pretty, they were really, really delicious!

I used blueberry pie filling as the filling for my pastries but you could also use nutella, any flavored jam, a cinnamon-sugar mixture, lemon curd, butterscotch chips.  You are only limited by your own imagination.  So go crazy, experiment and come up with your special creation.  That’s the fun part!  Most of all ENJOY my friends!

With love,

Donna

HOMEMADE POP TARTS (makes 8 pop tarts)

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter

1 egg

2 tbsp milk

blueberry filling

1 beaten egg to brush pop tarts

Whisk together the flour, sugar and salt.  Cut the butter into cubes and work it into the flour with your hands until it is the size of peas.  Whisk together the egg and milk and then pour it into the dough mixture.  Mix until cohesive.  In the bowl, knead the dough until it forms a ball.

Divide the dough in half and form each ball of dough into a disc.  Working with one disc of dough, roll it out on a lightly floured surface.  Roll it out until it is about 9×12 and 1/8″ thick.  Cut the dough into 3×4″ rectangles and place on a baking sheet.  If you are making your fillings place dough in refrigerator until needed.

To assemble the tarts, take the dough rectangles out of the refrigerator.  On half of the rectangles, brush the beaten egg on the whole surface.  Place 1 tbsp of the filling in the center, leaving a 1/2″ around the edges.  Continue with the rest of the rectangles that you brushed with the egg.  Cover each rectangle with another rectangle and using your fingers press firmly around the edges of each tart to seal.  Then using a fork press edges.  Gently prick the top of the tarts with a fork.  Put the tarts into the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Bake the tarts for about 20 minutes until golden brown.  Transfer to cooling rack and cool to room temperature.  The filling can be very hot, careful if eating these warm.  These will keep in an airtight container for a week or they can be frozen.

This recipe was adapted from www.krissys-creations.com .

18 thoughts on “Homemade Pop Tarts

  1. These look great! Ive been wanting to make pop tarts at home for quite some time now 🙂 Though since the husband dislikes anything berries will have to modify the filling to chocolate 🙂

Comments are closed.