Butternut Squash Soup

I have discovered that I am quite fond of butternut squash.  I like it so much that I am looking for new ways to enjoy it.  One of my favorite ways to enjoy it is simply cut up and roasted with a little salt and pepper.  My mom made it this way for me one time and I was surprised at how flavorful it was when so simply done.  I have made it the same way several times since.  So I had some of this wonderful little vegetable, planning on roasting it, but decided to try something different.  I came across this recipe for butternut squash soup and knew it would be perfect for these cold winter nights that we are having right now.  It didn’t let me down.

This soup is warm, sweet, buttery and velvety smooth.  I don’t know if I will come across another butternut squash recipe that will top this one.  It is just so lovely.

I do hope you will try this wonderful little soup and if you have a favorite butternut squash recipe please send me a link.  I would love to try it!  ENJOY my friends!

With love,

Donna

BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP

6 tbsp chopped onion

4 tbsp margarine

6 cups peeled and cubed butternut squash

3 cups chicken broth

1/2 tsp dried marjoram

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

2 (8oz) pkgs cream cheese

In a large saucepan, saute onions in margarine until tender.  Add squash, chicken broth, marjoram, black pepper and cayenne pepper.  Bring to boil; cook for 20 minutes or until squash is tender.

Puree squash and cream cheese in a blender or food processor in batches until smooth.  Return to saucepan and heat through.  Do not allow to boil.

ENJOY!

This recipe adapted from www.allrecipes.com .

12 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

Comments are closed.