Chicken with Lemon Caper Sauce

Have you ever visited a restaurant and ordered something from the menu that you absolutely loved, so each time you visit there you can’t make yourself order anything different?  I do this over and over again.  I find that I go to certain restaurants for certain dishes.  There is an Italian restaurant close to where I live that serves this dish.  It is so wonderful!  The tanginess of the lemon juice and the capers with buttery cream sauce just make my tastebuds do a little dance.  So I order it everytime.

I decided I would try to duplicate this tasty dish that I love so much.  I must say it turned out nicely.  I have made it several times now and have tried adding different ingredients.  Today all I had in the fridge was butter, lemons, cream and capers so this is what I used, but I sometimes saute’ a little spinach in it or artichokes and I have even used pancetta in this dish.  All of these additions are delicious and I would have used them today if I would have had them (to lazy to go to the store).  I hope you enjoy this dish.  This is the version that I made today.  ENJOY!!!

CHICKEN WITH LEMON CAPER SAUCE

8 oz angel hair pasta

1/2 stick butter

1 tbsp olive oil

2 chicken breasts, pounded thin

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/2 oz lemon juice

1 oz white wine

3/4 c heavy cream

2 tbsp capers

salt and pepper

parmesan cheese (optional)

Cook pasta and drain.  Meanwhile heat butter and oil in large skillet (the oil keeps the butter from burning).  Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper.  Place chicken in skillet and brown on both sides.  Add garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Add wine and lemon juice and cook for 1 minute more.  Then add cream and cook until it begins to thicken about 3-4 minutes.  Add capers toward end.  Place some pasta on a plate and add chicken on top.  Spoon lemon caper sauce over chicken and pasta.  Serve with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top if you like.

This recipe is from The Sugared Pecan.

8 thoughts on “Chicken with Lemon Caper Sauce

Comments are closed.