Smoky Shrimp and Grits

Shrimp and grits is a delicious, down home, good ol’ southern kind of dish.  There are many variations of this dish, bbq shrimp and grits, shrimp and tomato grits, I’ve seen it done with a florentine sauce, the list goes on and on. I have been making this particular version for a couple of years now and I absolutely love it!  It is one of my all time favorite dishes.

This version of shrimp and grits has a wonderful smokiness and a little kick from the chorizo that works well with the shrimp.  That combined with the freshness of the tomatoes and the freshly snipped parsley makes for great flavor combinations.  But we aren’t done yet.  You then spoon this scrumptiously delicious mixture over a warm bowl of grits and you have comfort food at it’s best!

Oh, I do hope you will love this little dish as much as I do!

Now, on a different note.  We had major storms that included tornadoes move through Alabama last night and this morning.  There was loss of life and many people lost their homes and businesses.  The place I work was only a couple of blocks from some of the major damage but managed to be untouched.  Only by the grace of God I wasn’t directly affected by the storm but there were many who weren’t so lucky.  Let’s all send out our love and prayers for all who suffered loss from this tragedy.

With thoughts, love and prayers,

Donna

SMOKY SHRIMP AND GRITS

1 cup grits

2 oz spanish chorizo, thinly sliced

2 tbsp oil

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 1/2 lbs medium shrimp, peeled and deveined

kosher salt and pepper

1 lb plum tomatoes, chopped

chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

Cook grits according to package directions.  Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add chorizo and cook 2 minutes.  Add onion and cook 4 minutes.  Stir in garlic.  Season shrimp with salt and pepper.  Add shrimp to skillet and cook until opaque throughout, about 3 minutes.  Add the tomatoes and toss to combine.  Spoon the mixture over the grits.  Sprinkle with parsley.  Serves 4.

Recipe adapted from www.womansday.com .

13 thoughts on “Smoky Shrimp and Grits

    1. Well, thank you so much for the kind words! I am thrilled you like them! It is good to hear from someone here in the south and I hope you came through the storms okay! If you read this reply let me know where you are in the south. Thanks for visiting my blog. Donna

      1. I am in Deland, Florida. That is where Stetson University main campus is. I didn’t attend that school, but a lot of people know Deland for that. It’s not too stormy where I am luckily, but thank you for your concerns:]

  1. That looks really good. I saw one recently that used bacon instead of sausage and it’s on my list of things to make soon. I’ve never met a shrimp and grits that I didn’t like.

  2. This looks so good! I’m curious to try because of the combination of shrimps with Spanish chorizo is something I’ve not done before.

  3. I just can’t love this recipe enough. I was raised by my southern mother and grandmother, and this is the type of meal they would make. I just love grits and shrimp. Wonderful post

Comments are closed.