French Baguette

I have been coming across so many delicious but easy bread recipes lately.  I just want to get in the kitchen and try them all!  It might be bread overload for awhile.  I will try to contain myself.  This one is the french baguette and although “french” is in it’s name it actually originated in Vienna.  It is still very much a staple in France.  They usually enjoy this bread in the early morning with their cup of tea…how lovely.  We Americans will usually have this bread with or right before dinner.  I like this bread best with an olive oil dipping sauce (find recipe here) or with a little butter.  The French even dip this bread in melted chocolate….can you imagine?  They certainly do food right.  Anything dipped in melted chocolate is going to be good my friends!    I hope you will make this wonderful and incredibly easy bread and discover the way you enjoy it most!   ENJOY!!!

FRENCH BAGUETTE

1 cup lukewarm water

2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

3 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp salt

In a large bowl, whisk yeast into water and let sit for about five minutes.  Add flour and salt and mix using paddle attachment or by hand until just combined.  Switch to dough hook and knead on medium for five minutes until dough is smooth and elastic.  Shape dough into a ball and place into a lightly greased bowl and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise until doubled about one hour.  Punch down risen dough and divide into two pieces.  Roll each peice into a foot-long rope and place side by side, about 3-4 inches apart on a stone or baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Cover with lightly greased plastic wrap and preheat oven to 400F.  After dough is slightly risen (about 30 minutes) remove plastic wrap and with a sharp knife make a couple of slashes on each baguette.  Place baguettes in oven, reduce heat to 375F and bake until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.  Remove from oven, spritz with water and allow to cool on cooling rack.

This recipe was found at www.tablespoon.com .

10 thoughts on “French Baguette

  1. Girl you have been busy this weekend I think I may just need to move in with you so all this good food doesn’t go to waste 🙂 looks yummy! Oh I’m gonna need a hot toddy to start my Monday off in the morning! Thx

  2. Wow, this will be my next bread baking project! I really love the smell of freshly baked bread coming out of the oven.

  3. Hi Donna,
    I just saw the beautiful challah bread you made. Thank you for trusting my recipe and for the beautiful words. It means a lot to me!

    This baguette looks great! I haven’t made a French baguette in such a long time. They make the best bruschetta! Yum!!

  4. In Singapore, we love to dip the baguette in curry sauce – the soft and fluffy inside soak up all the delicious and sinful curry sauce but the crisp exterior still provide a crunch. I’ve a phobia of making bread – I always worry that the bread will not rise and be soft and fluffy, but your recipe looks really easy, hopefully I can try it one day (:

Comments are closed.