Banana Ebelskivers

Ebel-what?  I know, right.  These wonderful little treats were originated in Denmark and they are pronounced “able-skeevers”.  They are a delicious breakfast treat if you sometimes like something sweet in the morning.  It is basically a mini stuffed pancake.  I personally believe that these little treats were intended to be a midnight snack that you and your sweetie make together in the kitchen……….at midnight……….in the kitchen……..making ebelskivers………..with whipped cream.  You can just imagine all the fun right?

I first discovered these babies on the food networks “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”.  Dangerous show to watch I must say.  The next thing you know, you are searching “ebelskivers” on the internet.  Well, I must have rattled on about them often because I received an ebelskiver pan for my birthday.  Now I share the happiness with others!  You too can find these pans at most cooking stores or online at places like Amazon.

Ebelskivers are fun to make around the holidays when you have a full house.  My personal favorite are the ones I am sharing with you today, banana ebelskivers, but there are many variations.  You could use chocolate, apple-cinnamon, pumpkin butter…lol.  These could also be a savory treat by using meats or cheeses.  Let your imagination go wild!

I have included the recipe for ebelskiver batter but you could use any basic pancake batter that would be just as good without so many steps.  ENJOY my friends!

With love, Donna

EBELSKIVERS

1 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs, seperated

1 cup whole milk

2 tbsp melted butter

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  In a small bowl, lightly whisk the egg yolks.  Then whisk in the milk and melted butter.  Add the yolk mixture to the flour mixture, stir until well blended.  The batter will be lumpy.  In a clean bowl, using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg whites until stiff, but not dry peaks form.  Gently fold the egg whites into the batter.  Heat the pan on medium.  melt dots of butter in the pan.  Fill each well about half full with batter, then add filling, and more batter on top.  When the batter begins to bubble it is time to turn the ebelskivers.  When they are golden brown remove from pan.  Serve with your favorite syrup and whipped cream.  This recipe makes 21.  ENJOY!!!!

This recipe was adapted from the Williams-Sonoma Ebelskiver Pancake Mix.

2 thoughts on “Banana Ebelskivers

  1. Those look delish! I expect to have some of those sweet things in my mouth come Monday morning! A great way to jump start the week 🙂

Comments are closed.