Challah-My First Post-Happy New Year!

Hi everyone!  Let me just start by saying, nothing this beautiful has EVER come out of my oven!  When I opened the oven door and saw this wonderful, golden brown loveliness with its beautiful braids, I couldn’t believe I created it!  If I could only somehow transport the wonderful aromas of warm, freshly baked bread…..heavenly!  I knew this would have to be how I started my new blog on this first day of the new year.

I am not Jewish myself but I have enjoyed a few of their traditional dishes and now I have another to add to the list.  This challah is not only delicious and beautiful but it is also a lot of fun to make with the braiding of the bread and all.

I have adapted this recipe from www.Roxanagreengirl.com who also has attached a video that will show you how to make a six-braided challah.  You can also make a three-braided challah which is just like braiding hair.  The video made it very simple for me to understand and I highly recommend it.  So thank you Roxanagreengirl!  Now, I do not own a stand-up mixer (I know) so I did everything by hand and it made it that much more fun and everything still turned out great!  I would start checking the bread after fifteen minutes since all ovens are different and my bread seemed to brown a lot faster.  Place aluminum foil over bread when it starts to get that nice golden color.  Have fun with this and ENJOY!!!!!

CHALLAH

3/4 c lukewarm water

1 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp dry yeast

2 Tbsp honey

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp salt

3 1/2 – 3 3/4 c all purpose flour

6 tsp vegetable oil

1 egg for eggwash

poppyseeds (optional)

In a mixing bowl combine the water, sugar, yeast and 1/4 c flour.  Stir and let the yeast proof (about 10 minutes).  Add the honey, lightly beaten eggs and the salt and stir.  With the paddle attachment mix and slowly add 1 cup of the flour.  Now with the dough hook on the lowest speed, slowly add the remaining flour until it comes clean from the sides of the bowl.  Take the dough out and place on a flat clean surface.  Slowly, by hand incorporate 1 tbsp of oil at a time into the dough.  Place dough into a greased bowl and cover.  Allow dough to rise until it doubles in volume (about 1 1/2 hours).  When it is risen, punch down the dough and cover again for a second rise.  After second rise, take dough out and divide into two balls.  Divide each ball into three or six strands.  After braiding the dough place on a baking sheet and let rise a third time.  Meanwhile heat oven to 350.  After breads are risen brush with eggwash and sprinkle with poppyseeds.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Cover with foil the last 10 minutes.  ENJOY!!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Challah-My First Post-Happy New Year!

Comments are closed.