Strawberry Cake and an Award

23 Sep

strawberry cake 008 copy

Well, what can I say?  I love strawberry cake, especially strawberry cake that involves cream cheese and strawberry pie filling.  I recently had some strawberry cake at work and it was so delicious I had to try and recreate it.  I sweet talked the cook and she did share her frosting recipe with me, which is very, very good!  I then had to go make it my own by adding a few other ingredients and I was pleased with the outcome!

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award

My other news is my sweet little blog was nominated for the Sisterhood Of The World Bloggers Award.  So, a big thank you to Jen over at Baking Bohemian for recognizing me.  It is much appreciated!  I also have to apologize for taking so long to get this posted.  If you do not know about her blog, you must go check it out!  She is fantastic!

strawberry cake 009 copy

Now for the recipe!

STRAWBERRY CAKE

1 box strawberry cake mix

1 3 oz jello, divided (you will use 1/2 in cake and 1/2 in frosting)

4 eggs

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup water

1 can strawberry pie filling (this will be divided into 1/3 increments)

STRAWBERRY CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 stick butter, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 of 3 oz strawberry jello

1/3 can strawberry pie filling

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbsp. milk

cool whip

Place all of the cake ingredients (using only 1/3 of the pie filling) together in a large bowl and mix on medium speed for 2 minutes.  Pour into greased and floured cake pans.  Bake @ 350F for 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool completely.

Meanwhile for the frosting, mix all of the ingredients, minus cool whip, (using another 1/3 of pie filling) together until well combined.  If it is too thick, add a little more milk to get a consistency that is easily spreadable.

After cake is completely cooled, begin frosting one layer with the strawberry frosting mixture.  On that layer add a layer of cool whip and the remaining 1/3 of pie filling.  Add second cake layer and finish frosting the entire cake with the remaining strawberry frosting.  Garnish with fresh strawberries.  ENJOY!!!

strawberry cake 005 copy

8 Responses to “Strawberry Cake and an Award”

  1. {Main St. Cuisine} September 23, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Congratulations on your award! Your cake sounds so good and I was missing beautiful, fresh strawberries just today. This cake just feels like it should be made to enjoy after a Sunday supper.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe!
    Allison

    • sugaredpecan September 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      I agree Allison! Thank you so much!!!

  2. Choc Chip Uru September 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Congrats my friend! And this delicious cake has my mouth watering :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  3. yummychunklet September 23, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    Congrats on the award!

  4. Bernice September 23, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Congrats on your award…… and the cake looks awesome!!

    • sugaredpecan September 23, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      Thank you Bernice!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

