Shrimp and Avocado Salad

19 Aug

avocado shrimp salad 006 copy

Hi friends!  Today for lunch, I made this wonderful, light, refreshing, crisp salad for my mom and I.  It is a perfect salad for this August heat!  Although it is light, it is a very filling salad.  Every bite has little bits of shrimp and creamy avocado with cilantro and toasted walnuts.  It is SO delicious!  I just love to find a perfect salad!

What is your favorite salad?  Share some of your salad recipes with me!

I do hope you ENJOY!

avocado shrimp salad 007 copy

SHRIMP AND AVOCADO SALAD

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/2 lb small shrimp

2 ripe avocados

lettuce

roasted walnuts

2 tbsp. chopped cilantro

lemon slices

1.  Combine olive oil, vinegar and onions in a bowl. Chop shrimp into 1/2 inch pieces and add to oil mixture.

2.  Arrange leaves of lettuce on plates.  Cut avocados in half and remove pits.  Remove some of the avocado around pit area and mix in with the shrimp.  Remove avocado from skins in one piece.  Place on top of lettuce.

3.  Spoon mixture on to avocado.  Sprinkle with nuts and cilantro.

Serve with lemon slices.

4 servings

This recipe found @ www.simplyrecipes.com.

12 Responses to “Shrimp and Avocado Salad”

  1. kalamitykelli August 19, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Looks so cool and delicious! I love anything avocado and will be trying this recipe soon!

    • sugaredpecan August 19, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Thank you so much. Same here, anything with avocado or cilantro!

  2. {Main St. Cuisine} August 19, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    What a great combination of flavors and perfect for all the southern heat and humidity that’s still happening in our area! I’m loving any salads using heirloom tomatoes or anything with fresh corn. Thanks for sharing such a lovely recipe with us!

    Allison

    • sugaredpecan August 19, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      Sounds good! Grilled corn would be good in a salad also! YUM! Thank you!

  3. Time With Thea August 19, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    I am always looking for new salad combinations and this one looks delicious. I am pinning it on Pinterest for future reference. Thank you for the inspiration! ~Thea

    • sugaredpecan August 19, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

      I am glad you like it and thanks for the pin!!

  4. Choc Chip Uru August 20, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    What a beautifully refreshing salad my friend :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  5. Green Beauty :) August 20, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    Look so good. It makes me feel hungry :)

    • sugaredpecan August 20, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      Thank you, I am glad you like it!

  6. yummychunklet August 21, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    You can never go wrong with shrimp and avocado!

    • sugaredpecan August 28, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      Yes , I totally agree!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

