Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

26 Aug

What can I say, I love my pizza!  I especially love Pizza Margherita.  Of course, I love the beautiful vibrant colors and the wonderful flavors but I also love the history of this pizza.  It is told that Queen Margherita visited Naples, way back in 1899, some say while vacationing and others say to escape the cholera epidemic in the north of Italy.  While there, she noticed people on the street eating this wonderful bread.  Chef Raffaelle Esposito was summoned by the queen to create an array of the wonderful breads for the queen to try.  One of his creations was made with tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella and fresh basil to represent the colors of the Italian flag.  The queen loved this particular creation so much that she wrote a thank you letter to Chef Esposito.  He decided to name this pizza after the queen and it has since been known as Pizza Margherita.

I decided to make this lovely pizza with a whole wheat crust so I wouldn’t feel quite so guilty.  I was very happy with the results.  It is a great feeling to make something much healthier and not miss out on all the wonderful flavors of a traditional pizza. 

Well, all that is left to do is decide what toppings you might like on your pizza and get started!  I hope you enjoy my friends!

WHOLE WHEAT PIZZA DOUGH

1 cup warm water

1/2 tsp Sucanat or other unrefined sugar

1 packet active dry yeast

2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour, plus more for kneading

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

In a small bowl, stir together water, Sucanat and yeast, let stand for 10 minutes. 

Combine the flour and salt.  Add the olive oil to the yeast mixture.  Then add wet ingredients to dry ingredients.  Mix with a dough hook for 1 minute or by hand for 2 minutes until thoroughly combined.

Transfer dough to a floured surface and knead by hand for 2 minutes.  Place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise in a warm place for 30 minutes to an hour, until doubled in size.  Punch dough down and it’s ready to use, or wrap it in plastic wrap and refrigerate for up to three days.  When you are ready to cook your pizza, preheat oven to 425F.  Sprinkle a pizza stone with a little cornmeal or flour to keep dough from sticking.  Stretch, roll or toss your dough about 15-16 inches.  Load with toppings, then bake for 15-20 minutes until edges are golden brown and pizza is cooked through.

This recipe found in THE EAT-CLEAN DIET VEGETARIAN COOKBOOK.

16 Responses to “Whole Wheat Pizza Dough”

  1. emmycooks August 26, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Gorgeous tomatoes! I love the history, I didn’t know the story of this delicious pizza.

    • sugaredpecan August 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you! My dad grew those tomatoes in his garden. I’m glad you like the story!

  2. Choc Chip Uru August 26, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Mmmmm this pizza dough looks fantastic :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. viveka August 26, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Full of goodness …. wonderful .. like the smell of it. *smile

  4. yummychunklet August 26, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Looks healthy and delicious.

  5. Bam's Kitchen August 26, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    I am loving this healthy pizza. Also like the little fresh mozzarella balls so perfect here.

    • sugaredpecan August 28, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, there is nothing so delicious as fresh mozzarella.

  6. Sibella at bakingwithsibella.com August 29, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Lovely pizza! Fresh tomatoes and mozzarella are my favorites too! YUM! :)

    • sugaredpecan August 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

      Thank you so much Sibella!

  7. cibusamare September 1, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    This pizza looks great, and I love baby mozzarella! I’m really into making baby mozzarella salads at the moment :D

    • sugaredpecan September 3, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      Thank you ! Yes, there is nothing better than fresh mozzarella!

  8. Christina September 2, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    I love making homemade pizza. I can’t wait to try this dough! :)

    • sugaredpecan September 3, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Thank you Christina! I just love making them too!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

