Applesauce Granita With Maple Yogurt

4 Aug

Oh do I ever have the perfect little treat for this August heat that we experience here in the south.  The dog days of summer…….what on earth does that mean anyway?  I have no idea, but what I do know is that they are upon us!  Whether you are in the southern United States or not, you will enjoy this wonderful treat.

This granita has flavors that are more reminiscent of fall, which might make this a nice refreshing dessert after a heavy dinner, say like a Thanksgiving Dinner or anytime really.  I however, would rather have this icy dessert in the summer when it is hot outside. 

Along with the wonderful flavors in this granita, it just couldn’t be any easier to make.  That my friends makes for a perfect dish!  So, go ahead, give it a try!  Most of all….ENJOY!!!!

APPLESAUCE GRANITA WITH MAPLE YOGURT

2 cups unsweetened or sweetened applesauce

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 c lowfat vanilla yogurt

1 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 tsp cinnamon

dried apple slices for garnish (optional)

Combine applesauce and lemon juice and place in an 8 x8 baking dish and put in the freezer.  Every 1-2 hours scrape with a fork until completely frozen.

 Meanwhile, combine yogurt, maple syrup and cinnamon.  Serve granita in a dessert bowl or wine glass. Drizzle with the maple yogurt. Garnish with a dried apple slice.

This recipe adapted from www.foodnetwork.com.

17 Responses to “Applesauce Granita With Maple Yogurt”

  1. yummychunklet August 4, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    How clever to use applesauce!

    • sugaredpecan August 4, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Yes, it is a pretty easy recipe!

  2. Choc Chip Uru August 4, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    This looks utterly delicious :D
    Love applesauce flavour!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. viveka August 5, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    What a great idea … for my lunch yoghurt …. thank you so much – love apple sauce too.

    • sugaredpecan August 5, 2012 at 7:34 am #

      It is so nice and refreshing yet the yogurt adds a little richness with the maple syrup. Give it a try!

      • viveka August 6, 2012 at 3:29 am #

        I did .. but I don’t like frozen yogurt so I had it fresh … yesterday – loved it.

      • sugaredpecan August 6, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

        I didn’t use frozen yogurt either but I do like it. I just don’t buy it very often. I’m glad you tried the granita!

      • viveka August 7, 2012 at 2:18 am #

        Had again yesterday. *smile

      • viveka August 7, 2012 at 2:22 am #

        Where did I get that from – that it was frozen ???? That’s me in a nutshell read what I want to read. Glad I followed you recipe then.

      • sugaredpecan August 7, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

        That is too funny!

  4. billpeeler August 5, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    What a wonderful combination of flavors – sounds rich without being heavy —-

  5. Russel Ray Photos August 5, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    And my mouth is now official watering!

    • sugaredpecan August 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      That was my goal! Thank you!

  6. Geni - Sweet and Crumby August 8, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Absolutely YES! I want some of this and it surely is the dog days of summer where I am…106 yesterday! YIKES!

    • sugaredpecan August 8, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

      I know right! Tis the season of icy desserts!!!!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

