Breakfast Bulgur With Pears

29 Jul

I first have to send out a big thank you over to Dan at www.hurdlestohappiness.wordpress.com for this presenting me the Illuminating Blogger Award.  It is always such an honor to be recognized by my fellow bloggers!

The rules of the Illuminating Blogger Award are as follows:

  1. The nominee should visit the award site (http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/) and leave a comment indicating that they have been nominated and by whom. (This step is so important because it’s the only way that we can create a blogroll of award winners).
  2. The Nominee should thank the person that nominated them by posting & including a link to their blog.
  3. The Nominee should include a courtesy link back to the official award site (http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/) in their blog post.
  4. Share one random thing about yourself in your blog post.
  5. Select at least five other bloggers that you enjoy reading their illuminating, informative posts and nominate them for the award. Many people indicate that they wish they could nominate more so please feel free to nominate all your favorites.

Here are my nominees:

www.sarahowens.wordpress.com

www.foodashion.com

www.bishsdishes.wordpress.com

www.notsoskinnycook.wordpress.com

www.lesliethefoodie.wordpress.com

Congratulations!

Now for the wonderful recipe I want to share with you today.  This is one that my sister shared with me and it is so yummy and healthy!  I love the nuttiness of the bulgur and the sweetness of the pears.  It is such wonderful flavor combinations.  Topped off with vanilla yogurt makes this a perfect little breakfast!

I made this dish stovetop but my sister made it in the crockpot which got rave reviews.  If, unlike me, you can plan ahead a little and get this dish ready the night before, I’m sure it is even more delicious in the crockpot. 

I do hope you enjoy my friends!

BREAKFAST BULGUR WITH PEARS (4 servings)

1 large pear, diced

1 cup fruit nectar (I used apple juice)

1 cup water

1 cup uncooked bulgur

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 pinch of salt

4 oz (or 1/2 cup) lowfat vanilla yogurt

Place all ingredients (minus pear and yogurt) in a large saucepan and bring to a boil.  Add the diced pears. Mix and cover pan.  Reduce heat to a very low flame and simmer until liquid is absorbed and bulgur is tender. About 12-15 minutes.  Serve in a bowl and top with yogurt.

21 Responses to “Breakfast Bulgur With Pears”

  1. billpeeler July 29, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    The bulgar looks so delicious – I’m sure the yogurt is the perfect topping. Congratulations on your award!

  2. Sandra - The Foodie Affair July 29, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    This looks delicious and a nice change from my bowl of oatmeal!

    • sugaredpecan July 29, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      Yes it is a nice change. A little nuttier than oatmeal. Thank you!

  3. Choc Chip Uru July 29, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Congrats on the award my friend :D
    And your breakfast treat looks wonderful!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. viveka July 30, 2012 at 2:48 am #

    Congratulations to the award and congratulations to your nominees. Big fan of bulgur, but never thought about having it for breakfast. Looks and reads very tasty. Something I’m going to dry.

    • sugaredpecan July 30, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

      Thank you! I hope you will try it, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

  5. Sibella at bakingwithsibella.com July 30, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Your breakfast bulgur looks very apetizing! YUM! Congrats on the award! :)

  6. brushneedleandwhisk July 31, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    Hi,I’ve nominated you for the lovely blog award. Your blog really is inspiring and amazing, thank you for sharing your foodie journeyt :D You can find details of the award here: http://brushneedleandwhisk.wordpress.com

    • sugaredpecan July 31, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Thank you so much, I am truly honored! I will put this in a post soon. Again thanks!

  7. Sherry Burks Gardner July 31, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    Congrats on another award Sister!! Think that I will have to try this one again, only this time I guess I will have to do stove top since my trusty friend Mr. Crockpot has decided to retire and I have yet to replace him!! Love!

  8. Sherry Burks Gardner July 31, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Oh, & the yogurt was your idea…….. And I can’t wait to try it with the yogurt!

    • sugaredpecan July 31, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      It was? I thought yours had yogurt….oh well.

  9. Norma Chang August 1, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    That’s a healthy and easy to make breakfast, love the yogurt idea..

    • sugaredpecan August 1, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you Norma! It is nice to meet you and I am glad you like you liked this dish!

  10. yummychunklet August 1, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Congrats on the award! And, what a tasty way to make breakfast!

  11. bishsdishes August 3, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Thanks so much – I love your recipes too!

    • sugaredpecan August 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      You are very welcome. It is well deserved!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

