Raspberry Buttercream Frosting

27 Jul

I made these wonderful little cupcakes when my son was getting ready to leave for college.  I remembered that he really loves buttercream frosting, cake not so much, but buttercream frosting oh yeah!  So, I made some traditional buttercream with vanilla flavoring and also made some with raspberry flavoring.  They were the most yummy cupcakes ever!

I will not be sharing a recipe for the batter because I cheated and used a box cake mix.  I used a french vanilla mix and it worked really well with the frosting.  I figured my son was all about the frosting anyway.

Guess what?  He forgot to take them with him……aw shucks……I guess I will have to eat them, darn, a real bummer, not!!!!

So here it is!  Enjoy!

RASPBERRY BUTTERCREAM FROSTING

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

3-4 cups confectioners sugar

1 Tbsp raspberry extract (or any flavor you like)

1-4 tbsp milk or heavy cream

a pinch of salt

 Beat butter on medium speed for a few minutes.  On low speed, add 3 cups of the sugar. Back on medium speed, add the raspberry extract, salt and 2 tbsp of the milk.  If frosting needs to be thicker add more of the sugar.  If it needs to be thinner add more of the milk. Enjoy friends!

Makes about 3 cups

This recipe adapted from www.savorysweetlife.com.

18 Responses to “Raspberry Buttercream Frosting”

  1. Marianne July 27, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    They look so yummie!, :).

    • sugaredpecan July 27, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      They were! Thank you Marianne!

  2. Sherry Burks Gardner July 27, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    These make me want cupcakes NOW!!!! (What tip did you use to frost the cupcakes? They look like roses!)

    • sugaredpecan July 27, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      These tips were some cheap ones I found and I don’t know the number. I sent you a pic of the tip so you can see what it looks like. Thanks!

  3. Sammie July 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    That looks delicious Donna!! And so pretty too! You’re such a professional!!! haha

    • sugaredpecan July 27, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Oh yeah right, I wish! Thanks Sammie!

  4. Simply Tia July 28, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    Oh my gosh…I can only imagine how tasty these cupcakes must be! Love that raspberry buttercream recipe Donna.

    • sugaredpecan July 28, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      Hi Tia, thanks so much! It was pretty tasty!

  5. viveka July 28, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    This is so pretty …. a big cupcake fan – but only to look at, love the art that goes into them … not a big fan of any kind of frosting

  6. Sibella at bakingwithsibella.com July 30, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Lovely looking cupcakes, love the color! :)

  7. thecompletecookbook August 2, 2012 at 3:32 am #

    A classic icing that works so well! :-) Mandy

  8. Christina @ Sweet Pea's KItchen August 2, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    I am loving these cupcakes…wish I had one right now! I have never tried raspberry buttercream…I can only imagine how good it must taste! :)

    • sugaredpecan August 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      Thank you so much! I am wishing for more too!

  9. on thehomefrontandbeyond August 9, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    so pretty – I think it would be good on chocolate cake – for some reason I love chocolate and raspberry together

    • sugaredpecan August 9, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      That would be delicious! Thank you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

