Black Bean Brownies

22 Jul

I have wanted to try these brownies for a while now.  After filing through many, many recipes to find the perfect one, I decided to try it on my own.  There are so many wonderful recipes out there and I definetly drew inspiration from all of them, but I was trying to keep it as healthy as possible without adding any sugar or flour (I mean except for those white chocolate chips sprinkled on top).  I am pretty pleased with the turn out considering this was my first try.

These brownies have an airy, pillowy, cake like texture.  A very soft yet moist brownie.  I was hoping for more of a fudge like brownie.  I already have some ideas that will possible help with that.  Maybe another egg added and omit the baking powder?  That is the fun part of being in the kitchen, experimenting!  A lot of the recipes I came across used sugar which I am sure would change the texture.  I also came across some with bananas….yum!  It will be fun changing it up and seeing what I come up with.

These brownies are great for when that sweet or chocolate craving hits but you don’t want to completely blow your diet, or if you just want to eat healthier in general.  I do hope you enjoy!

BLACK BEAN BROWNIES

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

3 eggs

3 tbsp oil

1/4 cup cocoa powder

pinch salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup honey

1 tsp instant coffee granules

1/2 tsp baking powder

white chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish.  Place all ingredients (minus white chocolate chips) in a blender and blend until combined.  Pour into the greased pan and sprinkle with the white chocolate chips.  Bake for 30 minutes.

18 Responses to “Black Bean Brownies”

  1. cht7 July 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Never thought of adding black beans into baking. Neat! Thanks for sharing this!

    • sugaredpecan July 22, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      Thank you, glad you like it!

  2. danbalva July 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    These look incredible!! And just to let you know, I nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award! Congratulations as it is much deserved :) http://hurdlestohappiness.wordpress.com/2012/07/22/illuminating-blogger-award/

    • sugaredpecan July 22, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      Oh wow! Thanks so much! I am so honored! I will try and post soon, thanks again!

  3. my recent favorite books July 22, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Oh my! The white chocolate chips and the coffee and honey added sound so good.
    Brownies are one of my favorite desserts!

    • sugaredpecan July 22, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

      Well this is a healthier version I hope you like!

  4. Choc Chip Uru July 23, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    Black beans and brownies – who would have thought ;)
    They look wonderful!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan July 23, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      They are different! Delicious and healthy! Thanks Choc Chip Uru!

  5. dwittopinions July 23, 2012 at 3:42 am #

    I’m sorry, that really does not sound very good. I’ve used beans in a heck of a lot of things but never something like brownies.

    • sugaredpecan July 23, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      That is very honest,lol! You can’t taste the black beans at all. They just provide the starch that normally comes from white flour making this brownie a little healthier.

  6. billpeeler July 23, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    The black beans sound totally fascinating – I should give this a whirl —

    • sugaredpecan July 23, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Thanks! The black beans take the place of the flour, but you can’t taste them at all. Maybe you could try a northern bean blondie, lol. Why hasn’t that been done? I see black bean brownies all the time. Maybe they don’t provide enough starch? We will have to try it!

  7. Ruth July 25, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    I came across a brownie recipe using black beans years ago, but never got around to trying them. They look delicious and should be devoured this instant! Maybe I’ll get some baking in this weekend lol

    • sugaredpecan July 25, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      Same here. I had wanted to try them for a while but just getting around to it. I hope you get a chance to bake some up. I think you will like them! Thanks!

  8. Sherry Burks Gardner July 27, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    OK, so I made the brownies 2x! First time the kids were not so fond of them! Second time the kids ate them up!! I did however figure out why the first batch wasn’t so popular. I used black bean soup by mistake! Guess I should have paid a little closer attention when grabbing them off of the shelf at the grocery store!! I did omit the coffee in the second batch also! Everyone around here loved them!

    • sugaredpecan July 27, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      Hilarious!!! I needed a good laugh! I’m glad everyone liked them and I can see where kids wouldn’t be so fond of coffee flavor!

  9. Sandra - The Foodie Affair July 29, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Definitely gotta try these. I’ve also seen different brownie recipes using black beans. I thought they would be dense, so happy to hear they came out airy-like.

    • sugaredpecan July 29, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      I was kinda shooting for a little more dense but they were very good. After putting them in the fridge it changed the texture and they seemed more fudge like. I liked them better cold….sounds odd, I know!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

