Seafood Cilantro Salad

14 Jul

Hi everyone!  It feels like it has been forever since my last post!  I’m not sure if I have been more busy or my mind is just congested with the million things that need to be done or maybe a little of both.  You see, my son has decided to go to school out of state.  He decided on this a couple of weeks before our vacation.  We managed to get all the paperwork done and requirements satisfied before we went on vacation….whew, yea!  We did not hear anything on his acceptance until the day we returned home.  Yes, he was accepted….. to where you ask?  The same place we just spent a week on vacation.  Do you know what all we could have gotten done during that week?  WOW!  He has to register for classes, but before he does that he has to attend a mandatory orientation and set up an academic advisor.  He has to get his student ID, he has to get a Florida drivers license…because yes he wants to be a permanent resident, change his insurance, get a job and find a place to live and blah, blah blah, blah blah.  Can you see why I am feeling a little overwhelmed?  Oh my goodness!  I know it will all get done and it will all work out but I am not one of those people who does the waiting game very well!  It drives me crazy when everything is up in the air and unsettled.  I want it all done NOW!

So….the silver lining.  Since I didn’t know about his acceptance, I didn’t run around like a chicken with my head cut off on my vacation.  I actually enjoyed it, which was much needed.  This is going to be a great opportunity for my son.  The first time he will be “spreading his wings”.  He will have to handle much of this on his own and it is going to be a great experience for him.  Am I letting go?  Oh no, I DON’T THINK SO!!!!!  I am very much still raising him!  But I have to say, I am beginning to feel the pull or should I say the rip.  As if he is slowly being ripped away from me until one day he is completely on his own, living his own life, and I am wondering if he will come home for the holidays or visit the in-laws….OMG….that was a huge jump! Okay I have to stop now! 

On a much lighter note, I had a salad similar to this on a buffet at a local restaurant.  Their version had calamari and it was so, so good.  It is very fresh and light with the lemon and cilantro, and the jalapeno gives it just the right kick.  I couldn’t find calamari so I left it out.  Before this salad, I had only tried the fried version of calamari so I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was.  If you can find a good quality calamari I would recommend it in this salad.  This is a great refreshing, cool salad for summer.  I hope you enjoy!

SEAFOOD CILANTRO SALAD

1 lb shrimp, cooked and peeled

6 oz imitation crab meat

1 cup fresh cilantro

1 jalapeno, sliced into rings

1 bellpepper, diced

1 lemon, cut into wedges

Mix all ingredients together (including lemon wedges) and chill until ready to serve.  When serving make sure each plate gets one or two lemon wedges to squeeze on the salad.  ENJOY!

22 Responses to “Seafood Cilantro Salad”

  1. Cara Olsen July 14, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    This looks incredibly refreshing . . .

    • sugaredpecan July 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Thank you Cara. It really is a nice refreshing salad!

  2. Choc Chip Uru July 14, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    This salad looks wonderful my friend, so refreshing and beautiful :)
    I hope it calms your stress levels down and congrats to your son :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan July 14, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      I’m glad you like the salad. It’s gonna take more than a couple of shrimp! LOL

  3. Lisa at fLVE July 14, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Yummy salad. As for the other things, it will all work out and since you prepared him to leave your nest, trust him to find his way home. :)

    • sugaredpecan July 14, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      Yes I know and thank you!!

  4. Sandra - The Foodie Affair July 14, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    One of my favorite herb is cilantro! This looks like such a refreshing salad. I feel your heart tug, my son is also leaving the nest :)

    • sugaredpecan July 15, 2012 at 6:35 am #

      Then you completely get it! I am excited for him but at the same time he is leaving. Thank you and good luck to your son (and you)!

  5. Sibella July 14, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    My son is starting college this fall too, so I completely understand! :) You salad looks amazing, just perfect for the hot summer days!

    • sugaredpecan July 15, 2012 at 6:38 am #

      Thank you! So you know exactly where I am coming from. It is good to hear from other moms going through the same thing!

  6. Bam's Kitchen July 15, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    Congratulations to your son! A yummy zesty salad like this is just shat you need to calm your nerves and get into to action to get things done. Take care, BAM

    • sugaredpecan July 15, 2012 at 7:09 am #

      Thank you so much! And thanks for the follow!

  7. Sherry Burks Gardner July 15, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Salad looks great!! But the real issue here is that now we have an excuse to go to FL more often!!!! Love you and my nephew! It’s all going to be just fine.

    • sugaredpecan July 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

      Thank you sis! I know it will be okay, but can we go this weekend?

  8. Erin's DC Kitchen July 16, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Cilantro and shrimp, two of my most favorite summer-ish ingredients!

    • sugaredpecan July 16, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

      I’m glad you like it! Thank you!

  9. billpeeler July 17, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    This sounds simple and delicious – hope this helped keeping you from getting too overwhelmed. Sounds like you have a lot of changes on the horizon!

    • sugaredpecan July 17, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      Thank you! I will get there eventually….I hope! Glad you like the salad!

  10. Russel Ray Photos July 21, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back, especially since you have the best camp store I’ve ever been to. The shrimp cilantro and the fig muffins were particularly delicious.

    • sugaredpecan July 22, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed your stay!

  11. Cedric Gair July 24, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    I love to eat seafoods because they are very tasty. Seafoods are also very rich in iodine and other salt minerals that you can only get on the sea. “”;’

    Take care
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com“>

    • sugaredpecan July 24, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thank you! I completely agree.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

