Orange Granita

2 Jul

Well, I am now on vacation at the beach.  When you have spent a hot day out in the sun, nothing could be more refreshing than this orange granita.  It is perfect to beat the summertime heat.  It is nice, cool, light and quite tasty.  I think the vitamin C also gives you a little pick me up. 

And did I mention that it requires very little effort.  This is what we want when vacationing…..am I right?  So when you need to beat the heat my friends this will be the perfect little sweet treat to do so!  I hope you will ENJOY!

ORANGE GRANITA

2 cups orange juice

1/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp lemon juice

Place all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat.  Stir just until sugar is dissolved.  Pour into a container and place in the freezer.  Every hour to two hours take out of the freezer and run a fork over to break up the crystals as they form.  Do this until completely frozen.  It will double in volume.  Serve in dessert glasses or oranges cut in half.  ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from www.zoomyummy.com.

21 Responses to “Orange Granita”

  1. Marianne July 2, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    Yummy, this my kind of food! :)

    • sugaredpecan July 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      It is pretty tasty! Glad you like it!

  2. Michele July 2, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Oh I’m so jealous what a beautiful picture I hope your having a wonderful time you deserve it! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    • sugaredpecan July 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

      Thanks bug….I miss you already! But we will be back soon enough, huh?!

  3. Sibella July 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Enjoy your vacation! :)

  4. Suzie July 2, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    I am sooo making this. I made a lemon-lime sorbet recently but, this baby is next on the list. Perfect for the heat wave we’re having :) Looks and sounds very refreshing!

    • sugaredpecan July 3, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      That’s sounds really cool and refreshing too. Thanks!

  5. Choc Chip Uru July 2, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Have fun my friend! This granita looks so refreshing :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan July 3, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      Thank you! I am glad you like!

  6. Lori July 2, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Yum, this is much healthier than the snow cone I was tempted by today. Thanks for sharing and have fun at the beach! Gulf Shores? My in-laws live in Mobile and it’s so pretty there.

    • sugaredpecan July 3, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

      Glad you like. We are in PCB.

  7. Sammie July 4, 2012 at 4:21 am #

    I loooove the beach! And the only thing that can top off being at the beach is having food and drinks at the beach!! Awesome!!

  8. billpeeler July 4, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    That really does look delicious and refreshing – perfect for the beach! I also love your tip about breaking up the ice crystals and having it double in size. That’s just great!

    • sugaredpecan July 7, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      It was so refreshing and tasty! Thanks Bill!

  9. Sandra - The Foodie Affair July 4, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    This looks so refreshing!, especially nice treat on a warm day!

    • sugaredpecan July 7, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      It was perfect at the beach. Thanks Sandra!

  10. eat sweet. by carla sue July 9, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    Congratulations! I have just given you a blog award! Check it out here :D
    http://carlasueeatsweet.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/another-award-i-love-this/

  11. Geni - Sweet and Crumby July 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    How perfect this would be on such a hot day here in So. Cal!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

