Banana Mocha Smoothie

28 Jun

Hi everyone!  Well, my vacation officially started at 3:00pm yesterday afternoon.  I can’t tell you how excited this makes me!  We are most definetly looking forward to getting away.  We are leaving saturday for the Gulf of Mexico, ah yes, the Emerald Coast with its cool blue-green waters and sugar white beaches.  My mind is already there, in my beach chair, sand between toes, straw hat on, listening to the gentle waves crashing on the beach and the sound of the seagulls in the background.  I can’t wait to physically be where I have been mentally for a while now.  Did I forget refreshing summer toddy in hand?   Must not forget that my friends….there will be drinking!

Hopefully I will be sharing some of those with you while vacationing, but you know how vacations can be.  For now I am sharing this wonderful little smoothie that I created. The flavor combinations with the banana, the chocolate and the coffee are delicious.  It makes for a wonderful breakfast or a refreshing snack.  I do hope you ENJOY!!!!

BANANA MOCHA SMOOTHIE

1 frozen banana

8 0z almond milk

2 tbsp peanut butter powder

1/2 tsp cocoa powder

1/4 tsp instant coffee

Put all ingredients in the blender and mix.  Pour into tall glass and ENJOY!

27 Responses to “Banana Mocha Smoothie”

  1. billpeeler June 28, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    What great, classic flavor combinations – this looks rich and delicious!

    • sugaredpecan June 28, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      It is very good, almost addictive in fact! Thank you!

  2. emmycooks June 28, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Your vacation sounds perfect! What is peanut butter powder?

    • sugaredpecan June 28, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      I was wondering if anyone would ask. It is peanuts that have been roasted and pressed to remove the fat and oil. So you still get all of the flavor of peanut butter without the calories. Peanut butter powder has 45 calories and 1.5 fat grams for 2 tbsp. Regular peanut butter has 190 calories and 16 fat grams for 2 tbsp. Also pb powder ingredients are peanuts, sugar (only 1 gram) and salt. Regular pb has peanuts, sugar, molasses, hydrogenated oil (bad, bad, bad), mono- and diglycerides and salt. I have really fallen in love with it!

      • emmycooks June 28, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

        Crazy, I’ve never heard of that. Thanks!

  3. viveka June 28, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Love everything in this one …. never heard about almond milk … *smile

    • sugaredpecan June 28, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Thank you! I’m not big on “light” or “fat free” things like salad dressings, mayo or milk. So if I can find something more flavorful that still cuts out the calories that is what I try to do. Almond milk is one of those things I like much better than say skim milk.

      • viveka June 29, 2012 at 4:15 am #

        Good for you … we need full fat in our lifes and bodies – butter is a lot more healthier the low fat margarine – low fat yogurt has more calories than full fat.
        I’m the same … I have a saying/quote – that low fat/light food taste like sticking out the tongue through the window. Absolutely nothing. Not a big lover of milk – only in my coffee and it has to be full fat, because otherwise the coffee looks grey. Never heard of Almond milk over here – have to look into that.

      • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 7:50 am #

        Yes, check it out. I think you will like it. You can also make your own, although I have never done this. There are many sites that explain how to do it.

      • viveka June 29, 2012 at 9:13 am #

        I doubt I will find it in the supermarket .. over here. Make myself – maybe that. Thanks for the advice. Will look around on the net.

      • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 9:50 am #

        I found a link for you http://www.noveleats.com/drinks/raw-homemade-almond-milk.

  4. Suzie June 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    The smoothie sounds good. Enjoy your vacation and I hope you post lots of pics :)

    • sugaredpecan June 28, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Thank you Suzie! I hope to do just that!

  5. Choc Chip Uru June 28, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Enjoy vacationing my friend – mine started at exactly the same time too :D
    Make and drink a million delicious smoothies like this if you desire!

    Cheers
    CCU

    • sugaredpecan June 28, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      How ironic! I hope you enjoy yours as well! Thank you!

  6. The Smart Cookie Cook June 28, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    I hope you have an awesome vacation! I’m kinda jealous; not gonna lie! I love how simple but delicious this looks. I suppose a smoothie is the perfect way to kick off vaca!

    • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      Thank you! It has been much looked forward to!

  7. Averil Gomes June 29, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    I’m not too big on bananas now but anything that reads Mocha gets me attention instantly :-)

    • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      I have tried it with other frozen fruit and it tasted like peanut butter and jelly. It was actually very good and there will be a post at some point.

  8. Cat Protectress June 29, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    This looks delicious! Thanks for following my blog. I’m happy to have now discovered yours. I look forward to more great recipes as I’m a FOODIE too :) Cheers!

    • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 10:35 am #

      Hi! Nice meeting you! Thanks for stopping by, it’s always good meeting another foodie!

  9. violetsandcardamom June 29, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    I have seen pb powder at the store and was curious about it but I didn’t get it. What a great idea of what to do with it! Definitely going to pick some up. I live on smoothies in the summer. :) p.s. Have a great vacation!

    • sugaredpecan June 29, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Give it a try, it is a great product without all of the calories of regular pb. It’s going to be a great vacation. Thank you!

  10. Jasline July 1, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Enjoy your trip Donna, hope to see some pretty photos when you’re back! That’s smoothie looks really delicious – a great way to start a day!

  11. Sandra - The Foodie Affair July 4, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    I recently discovered peanut butter powder. Love it and add it to my smoothies too!

    • sugaredpecan July 7, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Yes, I have just fallen in love with it. It is good stuff. I’m glad someone else has heard of it!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

