Homemade Mac-n-Cheese for Father’s Day

17 Jun

Well nothing says home and comfort like homemade macaroni and cheese.  For me it is king of all comfort foods.  So it is the perfect post to share with you on this Father’s Day.  It represents all that dad’s should be. 

I have made this recipe with different cheeses but this version is the best so far.  I came across shredded queso at the grocery store so decided to give it a try.  It gave the dish a nice creaminess and flavor.  That along with some freshly ground nutmeg made this mac-n-cheese extra special.

So, when big, warm hugs are needed, this is your dish!  ENJOY my friends!

HOMEMADE MAC-N-CHEESE

12 oz macaroni, cooked

6 oz cheddar cheese, shredded

6 oz queso cheese shredded

3 eggs

2 tbsp butter

2 1/2 cup milk

pinch of salt & pepper

fresh ground nutmeg (to taste)

paprika

Mix all ingredients (minus paprika) together and pour into a greased casserole dish.  Add a little extra cheese on top toward end of cook time and sprinkle with paprika.  Bake @ 350F for 45 minutes.

14 Responses to “Homemade Mac-n-Cheese for Father’s Day”

  1. Cara Olsen June 17, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I can’t imagine a single man on the planet saying no to that dish. Wow. Wrap it up and ship the leftovers to me!
    ;-)

  2. billpeeler June 17, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I love, love this mac-n-cheese. I like to make a very similar recipe that I got from my mom – I think with the milk and eggs and all the cheese, this really IS the best way to make it. So darn good!!

    • sugaredpecan June 17, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Thank you! Any mac-n-cheese is always a winner!

  3. viveka June 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Big fan of a good mac cheese – great as a side dish for a nice piece of pork … thanks for this one, quite a while since I made one.

    • sugaredpecan June 17, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Then it’s time! Glad you like it!

  4. Choc Chip Uru June 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Fathers Day is actually in September in Aus so this sounds like a perfect spring dish to celebrate with :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan June 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      That is very interesting! Glad you like it. What part of Australia are you in? My mom has visited Australia on two seperate occasions and I would love to go!!!

  5. filingawaycupcakes June 18, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I LOVE homemade mac and cheese! So nice of you to not be lazy and actually make it yourself. I will have to tag this for later. I so want to try your recipe:]

    • sugaredpecan June 18, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Well thank you so SO much! I’m glad you like it and I do hope you will give it a try!

  6. Sherry June 19, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    I could use a Mac n cheese hug!!!!

    • sugaredpecan June 22, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      You will have to have a hug of another kind-must diet!

  7. The Smart Cookie Cook June 22, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Oh man, that looks like killer mac & cheese! My dad loves mac and cheese, especially with the breadcrumb topping, so this would be perfect for him!

    • sugaredpecan June 22, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Thank you. You will have to make it for him!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

