Healthy Fig Muffins

14 Jun

Hi friends!  Well today was one hot, humid day here in the south.  It was a good 92 degrees outside and summer hasn’t even gotten started good!  It’s gonna get hot people!  Instead of posting fig muffins, I should be posting some kind of cool, refreshing drink or a berry salad, but we have a lot of summer ahead of us, in fact it hasn’t even officially started, so we have plenty of time for all of that.  For now however, I have been trying to drop a few pounds by eating a little healthier and getting in a little more exercise. I found the following recipe in one of the books I have been looking through for some healthy ideas.  I think it will fit with many different diets out there.  It very much reminds me of a bran muffin, but the fruit really adds so much more.  Although I have not tried it myself, I’m sure you could use any dried fruit in place of the figs, like dried apricots for instance.  Yum, that actually sounds pretty good!

These muffins were recommended (along with a fruit smoothie) for a breakfast meal.  I love that you can freeze these and pop them in the microwave for a few seconds for a really quick breakfast, which I totally need on the mornings that I go to work…….there is no time for cooking!!!

I plan on sharing some more healthy recipes with you in the near future, but don’t fret, the sugar loving girl isn’t far away and will still be sharing the bad for you but awesomely delicious stuff too!!!!

ENJOY!

HEALTHY FIG MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups multigrain high-protein cereal with flax, crushed (I used Uncle Sam’s)

1 cup fortified 1% milk or fortified plain soy milk

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour or spelt flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup light olive oil

4 egg whites

1/2 cup chopped dried figs

1.  Preheat oven to 400F.  Coat 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray.

2.  Combine the cereal and milk in a large bowl.  Let stand 5-10 minutes.  Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

3.  Add the sugar, applesauce, oil, and egg whites to the cereal mixture and stir until well blended.  Add the flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Gently stir in the chopped figs.  Spoon the batter evenly into the prepared muffin pans.

4.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.  Enjoy!

Per muffin:  190 calories, 6 g protein, 32 g carbohydrates, 6 g fat, 1 g saturated fat, 4 g fiber, 325 mg sodium

This recipe found in the book  “The Natural Menopause Solution”.

17 Responses to “Healthy Fig Muffins”

  1. Choc Chip Uru June 15, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Healthy and super delicious you mean :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan June 15, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Ah yes, give them a try my friend!!!!

  2. thingsmybellylikes June 15, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    Seeing a lot of fig recipes lately and it’s making me sad I can’t get any in my local shop – any chance these would work with dates?

    • sugaredpecan June 15, 2012 at 9:40 am #

      I didn’t know if I would find any. I think any dried fruit would do!

  3. Lori June 15, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    We have a fig tree. I wonder if you could use fresh figs?

    • sugaredpecan June 15, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      You would think it would be even better but I don’t know. I would think it would make the muffin more moist, so I say give it a try!

  4. viveka June 15, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Love muffins in all forms …. And I love figs, so this will be a mission for me after holiday. On file we go. Wish we had that nice temperature back. Don’t know what happen to our summer ?? We maybe already had it .. during 14 fantastic days in May.

    • sugaredpecan June 17, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      I glad you like! Thank you!

      • viveka June 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

        Will let you know when I have made them *smile

  5. billpeeler June 16, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I am a total fig-lover, so this is right up my alley. Also love that this calls for apple sauce – they look so delicious!

  6. delicio8 June 21, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    These look really good, thanks for sharing. I think you’re right that just about any dried fruit might work. I’m trying to eat healthier too but I need a higher protien number but I bet you could add protein powder to these and have something quite delicious!

    • sugaredpecan June 22, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      Have you tried peanut butter powder? It cuts out the fat but you still get the protein and all the flavor of peanut butter. So you could do pb powder and strawberries and have sort of a pb & jelly muffin. I am actually planning to post a pb & j smoothie. I will let you do the muffins….lol!

      • delicio8 June 22, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

        I’ve heard of it but never tried it. Do you have to reconstitute it with water?

      • sugaredpecan June 22, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

        No. You just add it dry.

  7. Sibella June 22, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Mmm, anything with figs works for me! These look wonderful! :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

