Croque Monsieur- Dinner And A Movie

26 May

How many of you remember the movie It’s Complicated?  The movie starred Meryl Streep, Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin.  Meryl Streep’s character owns a bakery and she did her culinary apprenticeship in Paris.  So as it turns out she has some skills in the kitchen.  Throughout the movie she is serving up these wonderfully, amazing, make you salivate, delicious looking meals, pastries and desserts to her friends and family.  In my opinion these incredible dishes were the true stars of this movie.  All of my fellow foodies out there who have seen this movie already know what I am talking about…am I right?  You found yourself wishing you knew how to make those chocolate croissants or wishing you knew exactly what that sandwich thing was that she served Steve Martin’s character.  They said the name more than once but you just couldn’t catch it.  Well my friends, after a little research I managed to figure out exactly what that was and found a wonderful recipe that I think you will be very, VERY, pleased with.

This wonderful little sandwich is called Croque Monsieur.  It is so much more than an ordinary sandwich.  It is made with thick crusty bread and it has a wonderful bechamel sauce and cheeses poured over it.   It is truly incredible.  I imagined (or wished) I was sitting outside a Parisian bistro with this and a glass of wine and when done I would then be heading to the nearest Parisian flea market or sorry, les puces, to walk off all of those crazy calories…..okay, one can dream can’t she?

I hope you will make this for someone special and possibly watch the movie too so you can have the total food experience that I had.  ENJOY my friends!!!

With Love,

Donna

CROQUE MONSIEUR

2 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp flour

1 1/2 cups milk or half-and-half

a pinch of salt, pepper and nutmeg

6 ounces Gruyere cheese, grated (about 1 1/2 cups)

1/4 cup gratred Parmesan cheese

8 slices French or Italian loaf bread

12 ounces ham, sliced

dijon mustard

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2.  Make the bechamel sauce.  Melt butter in a saucepan on med/low heat until it just starts to bubble.  Add the flour and cook, stirring until smooth, about 2 minutes.  Slowly add the milk, whisking continuously, cooking until thick.  Remove from heat.  Add the salt, pepper and nutmeg.  Stir in the Parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup Gruyere cheese.  Set aside.

3.  Lay out the bread slices on a baking sheet and lightly toast them on each side.

4.  Lightly brush half of the slices with the mustard.  Add the ham slices and about 1 cup of the Gruyere cheese.  Top with the other bread slices.

5.  Spoon on the bechamel sauce to the tops of the sandwiches.  Sprinkle with the remaining Gruyere cheese.  Bake in the oven for 5 minutes, then turn on the broiler and broil for an additional 3-5 minutes, until the cheese topping is bubbly and lightly browned.  Serve this with a fresh green salad.

If you top this sandwich with a fried egg it becomes a Croque Madame.

This recipe adapted from Ina Garten.

24 Responses to “Croque Monsieur- Dinner And A Movie”

  1. Choc Chip Uru May 27, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    That was a totally fun meal :D
    This looks like perfect accompaniment to it :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan May 27, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you! Both were good!!!

  2. Lori May 27, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Those looks so good! I love that movie too.

    • sugaredpecan May 27, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      Thank you Lori! It makes you want to eat everything in the house!

  3. billpeeler May 27, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    How cool is that? I’ve never heard of these sandwiches, but they sound awesome! Would love to try these at some point —-

    • sugaredpecan May 27, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      You will not be disappointed. They are crazy good!

  4. dwittopinions May 27, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Looks wonderful and now I’m really hungry!

    • sugaredpecan May 27, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Yes, that’s kind of what the movie did to me!

  5. thingsmybellylikes May 27, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Anything with that much cheese gets my vote :)

    • sugaredpecan May 27, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      Isn’t that the truth! Thank you!

  6. Sammie May 27, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    wow this looks really amazing. Delicious!! Can’t go wrong with cheese on your bread!!

  7. ellyvegas1 May 27, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    Oh my gosh! This looks ahhmazing!!! The only way it could be better is to add some bacon! And then you will have a heart-attack in a sandwich, but soo worth it lol!

    • sugaredpecan May 28, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      I like the way you think, lol!!

  8. susartandfood May 28, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    I posted a recipe for this sandwich last year. It’s one of my favorites and this one looks delicious.

    • sugaredpecan May 28, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Oh I will have to go check yours out. Thanks, it is now one of my favorites also!!!

  9. zoetic * epics May 28, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Never seen that movie, but I’ve tried the Croque Monsieur at a local Parisian cafe and it did not look the same, or as yummy as yours! :D

    • sugaredpecan May 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      I can’t imagine mine would be better. I came across many different ways of making this when trying to find the recipe but decided on this one.

  10. sybaritica June 2, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Those are the best I have ever seen!

  11. Jason E. Marshall June 6, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    I remember eating these in a little cafe in Paris! ahhhh memories! These look wonderful as well! Thanks for the recipe!

    • sugaredpecan June 11, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Thank you! I hope to one day have that memory!!!!

  12. Sandra - The Foodie Affair June 7, 2012 at 12:25 am #

    Yum! Definitely need to try the Croque Madame version!

    • sugaredpecan June 7, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

      I am thinking the same thing! Thank you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

