Cinnamon Roll Loaf

17 Mar

Yesterday was a fun-filled day of shopping with my mom.  It was great being outside in this beautiful weather that we are having here in Alabama.  The temperatures are in the mid 80′s and the sun is just beaming.  Everything is in bloom and the little birds are singing their morning songs.  You can just feel the joy of new beginnings in the air.  We seem to have skipped right over spring, as far as the temperature anyway.  This time of year we usually see temperatures in the 60′s and 70′s and still get those crazy cold snaps that move through.  The weather can usually be quite turbulent too this time of year, with the cold air mixing with the warm air.  So we might still have some crazy unpredictable weather ahead of us.  But for now it is beauty and sunshine.  Everyone, including my dad, is starting to plow the grounds for their gardens and doing the usual yard maintenance.  It is fun to do yard work when the temperatures are moderate and humidity is low, but come July and August in the south, it can be murder!

I have had many good things to say about the wonderful cookbook I received from my girls at work (you may be sick of it by now).  I am continuing to try different recipes from it and I haven’t been disappointed.  It continues to impress.  I asked my girls to pick out a recipe from the book that they would like for me to make for them.  They hit the jackpot with this one.  Oh my goodness, how I wish I could somehow transport the aromas and the yumminess of this dish, with buttery cinnamon-sugar mixture poured over pieces of yeast bread and then smeared with cream cheese frosting.  I mean come on people, does it get any better?  It reminds me a lot of monkey bread, only this is made with yeast bread rather than biscuits which adds a whole other layer of flavor and the cream cheese sends it right into orbit!

By now you know that I love simplicity with my recipes and this one couldn’t be more simple.  It is also a good recipe to share with out-of-town guests.  I hope you will give this one a try and ENJOY my friends!

With love,

Donna

CINNAMON ROLL LOAF

1 pound frozen bread dough

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 Tbsp cinnamon

8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup cream cheese

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

2 Tbsp milk

In a greased loaf pan, set the bread dough, covered ( I covered with plastic wrap sprayed with oil so it wouldn’t stick), overnight to thaw and rise.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350F.

Mix together the cinnamon and sugar.  Cut or tear the bread into  1″ cubes.  Dip the cubes in the butter then roll in the cinnamon-sugar mixture and place in the loaf pan.  Pour any remaining butter and cinnamon mixture over the top.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes, until golden brown.

Let sit for 5 minutes.  Invert onto a serving platter.  Turn right side up again.

To make the icing, beat together the cream cheese and the sugar.  Add milk to create a glaze consistency.  Spread over the top of the loaf while the bread is still warm.

Let cool slightly before slicing.  Or serve warm and pull apart.

This recipe found in The Stocked Kitchen cookbook.

20 Responses to “Cinnamon Roll Loaf”

  1. billpeeler March 17, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Wow – this looks heavenly! Reminds me of monkey bread – and the cream cheese icing sounds like the perfect way to top it off . . . yummmmmmmm.

    • sugaredpecan March 17, 2012 at 9:53 am #

      Thank you. So glad you like it!

  2. Cara Olsen March 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I should really only visit your blog just after I have eaten something nutritious . . . As it is, I have not eaten a thing! and all I want is to stick my hand through the screen and swipe that roll. Oh, it looks delicious!

    • sugaredpecan March 18, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      You are so funny and so sweet! It really was so good. I’m glad you like it. Thank you!!!!

  3. Choc Chip Uru March 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    This sounds so delicious- I am so lazy in making cinnamon rolls, this looks like my ideal way of serving for breakfast :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • sugaredpecan March 18, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Me too girl!! Thank you.

  4. Geni - Sweet and Crumby March 17, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Oh…so heavenly. I just made cinnamon rolls this morning. I think we are frequently on the same wavelength!

    • sugaredpecan March 18, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Funny how that happens right! Thank you!

  5. beccysfoodies March 17, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    that looks incredible!! i really must make this sometime :)

    • sugaredpecan March 18, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      Thank you! You should, it is soooo good!

  6. Sherry Burks Gardner March 18, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    Yummms!!

  7. Malou March 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    This looks so good that I can almost smell the amazing aroma of the cinnamon. ;-)

    • sugaredpecan March 18, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      Yes, it’s really wonderful! Thank you!

  8. Michele March 19, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    THIS LOAF IS HEAVEN THANKS FOR SHARING!

    • sugaredpecan March 19, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      You picked a good one!

  9. fati's recipes March 21, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    must’ve gone completely mad over this… 5 stars* !!

    • sugaredpecan March 27, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      Thank you so much. I am glad you like it!

  10. filingawaycupcakes March 23, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    How did I not see this chunk of heaven before! I have got to change my settings, because this looks scrumptious! The best thing is, if I don’t finish this, it would taste amazing in a layered bread pudding.

    • sugaredpecan March 27, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      You just put it over the top delicious!!!!! Great idea! I was just in New Orleans and came across a bananas foster bread pudding (but they were out) can you just imagine, OMG!!!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

