“Mexican Five Layer Dip” Soup

4 Feb

Most likely at one point or another you have been to a party where Mexican Five Layer Dip was served.  It usually consists of a layer of refried beans, a layer of ground beef, a layer of guacamole, a layer of sour cream and finally a layer of salsa.  In trying to come up with some recipes for Super Bowl weekend, I was thinking about these kind of “party” foods and thinking how chili is also a popular dish to make for football watching get togethers.  So, I then thought, hey why not do a kind of deconstructed Mexican Five Layer Dip and turn it into a soup and so my friends, that is exactly what I did.

In creating this dish I didn’t want it to be chili.  So although I did use seasonings that you would use in chili I cut back the amounts and I added a little more of a spice that might seem a little unusual to you.  Pumpkin pie spice…..does that seem odd?  Well, it is actually used in dishes like this more than you think and no it doesn’t make your soup taste like pumpkin pie.  It gives it that something that you know is different but you can’t quite tell what it is.  It can also be used in different batters when frying foods, like fried chicken for instance.  I have also used cinnamon when flouring chicken to fry.  If you use just a little you can’t tell what it is but it gives your food a wonderful flavor!  Well here it is and I hope you ENJOY!

With Love,

Donna

“MEXICAN FIVE LAYER DIP” SOUP

1 lb ground beef

1 clove garlic, salt, pepper

3-4 cups beef broth

4 Roma tomatoes, chopped (or use canned)

1 can pinto beans

1 can black beans

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili pepper

1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

avocados

sour cream

In skillet, add ground beef, garlic, salt and pepper.  Brown ground beef and drain off fat.  Move ground beef to a large sauce pan.  Stir in broth, tomatoes and beans.  Add remaining seasonings.  Let simmer for 30 minutes.  Serve with sliced avocados and sour cream.

This recipe is from The Sugared Pecan.

10 Responses to ““Mexican Five Layer Dip” Soup”

  1. Sherry Burks Gardner February 5, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    Girl, you have out-done yourself this time!! You know I love any mexican food. Although I will not be making this for Super Bowl, It will be made on Monday. The good thing about this is that for those crazy people who do not like sour cream or avocado, they don’t have top the soup with it.

    • sugaredpecan February 5, 2012 at 8:15 am #

      Yes, that’s true. I have seen all kinds of toppings on the dip verson like scallions or black olives. It really is just personal preference. I’m glad you like it!

  2. Angie@Angie's Recipes February 5, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Using pumpkin pie spice in the soup…that’s just original and creative! It looks simply delightful and delicious.

  3. Simply Tia February 5, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    I’ve never had Mexican five layer dip :( Sure looks like I’m missing out.

    This soup here looks sooo flavorful and delicious! I think the use of pumpkin pie spice is ingenuous! Yum Yum Yum!

    • sugaredpecan February 5, 2012 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks Tia! I know YOU can appreciate changing it up a bit!

  4. samology February 9, 2012 at 5:01 am #

    oooh! delish! What a great recipe!! You’re so innovative! Thanks for sharing!!! :)

  5. Jen February 11, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    This is so perfect I can’t even explain how much I want to run out right now and get all of the ingredients so we can have it today when it’s cold outside! Pinning this one for later! Thanks for sharing.

    • sugaredpecan February 11, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      It’s so cold here in Alabama too! I hope you enjoy!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 475 other followers

