Artisan Bread

29 Jan

Boule, comes from the French meaning “ball”.  This bread resembles a squashed ball.  It is a rustic bread with a crusty exterior and a soft interior.  It is traditionally known as Boule but it is also known as peasant or artisan bread.  Of course I like the sound of artisan bread.  You can create all of these pretty little designs on top by cutting it with a knife right before it goes in the oven.

It is reported at the time of the French Revolution in the late 1700’s, that the average Frenchman ate three pounds of bread a day.  Riots could result if bread supplies ran low.  I don’t know about you but I can totally relate to this.

Once again, I had so much fun making this bread.  I have learned that breads do not have to be scary.  I think most people are scared of the yeast and the whole rising of the bread thing….or at least it was a little scary for me.  The only problems that I have had is with my oven.  It seems to cook things a little faster than most.  So I just make sure I watch it closely.

I can’t wait to make some more of this bread and get more creative with the designs on top!

With love,

Donna

ARTISAN BREAD

3 c lukewarm water

1 1/2 tbsp active dry yeast

1 1/2 tbsp coarse salt

6 1/2 c unsifted, all purpose flour

In a bowl, pour in the lukwarm water, then add yeast and salt.  Add all of the flour at once.  Mix with a dough hook (kneading is not necessary-just mix until ingredients are incorporated).

Pour dough into a large greased bowl, cover and let rise for 2 hours.

After dough has risen, sprinkle the surface and hands with flour.  Divide dough into 4 equal parts.  Stretch surface of dough, turning and tucking under bottom.  Shape until nice and smooth and outer surface is tight.  Place on lined baking sheet or a baking stone.  Allow each dough ball to rest 40 minutes.  Twenty minutes before baking, preheat oven to 450F.  Place a broiler tray with water on a shelf that doesn’t interfere with the bread.  Dust the tops of each loaf with flour, seeds, rolled oats, whatever you like.  Make several slashes 1/4- inch deep on tops.  After a twenty minute preheat, put loaves in the oven and close door quickly.  Bake 30 minutes until golden brown.  Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before slicing.

This recipe adapted from www.girlversusdough.com .

11 Responses to “Artisan Bread”

  1. Anastasia January 30, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    This look delicious! I want to try it sometime with a starter…

  2. a toast and tea January 30, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    This looks lovely, and doesn’t sound scary to make at all! I love this kind of bread, especially if it’s sourdough (something I do still find too scary to attempt!).

    • sugaredpecan January 30, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      Maybe we both will try a sourdough someday soon! Donna

  3. delicio8 January 30, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    That looks great. Go ahead and try sourdough, it’s really not that hard! It just takes all day….I think the less you know about it, the less intimidated and then it all works out well. It’s funny but I just posted on making a wild yeast sourdough! I hope you do it soon.

    • sugaredpecan January 30, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      Well thank you, yes I read your post. You are motivating me to do it!!! I do need to try because I love the flavor of sourdough. Thanks, Donna

  4. Averil January 31, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Donna, I really enjoy your blogposts and so I have a little surprise waiting for you here:
    http://averilgomes.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/liebster-blog-award/
    Cheers!

    • sugaredpecan January 31, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!! It feels good to be recognized and appreciated, as you well know. Thanks again, Donna

  5. Simply Tia February 2, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    I have never tried making bread because I think I might have a fear of yeast! Your bread looks great!!!! Well done.

    • sugaredpecan February 2, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      I made one that turned out great and now I keep making them. I say if I can do it anyone can. They are a little addictive. Donna

  6. brushneedleandwhisk February 5, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    This bread looks amazing, will definitely have to try the recipe :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

