Bananas Foster Upside Down Cake

27 Jan

A few months ago I came across a recipe for bananas foster upside down cake.  It is made just like pineapple upside down cake but with the ingredients you would find in bananas foster.  I thought it was such a wonderful idea and knew that I would someday make it.  That day was today my friends…….the worst kitchen disaster day I have had in a long time.  And this is how it all went down.

I woke up very excited to make this wonderful dessert (from hell).  I have actually created my own golden vanilla cake recipe that I planned to use with this dish.  So I get everything ready and into the oven.  About halfway through the cooking time I ventured into the kitchen only to find smoke coming from the oven.  I opened the oven door and I see that I have obviously used too much of the cake batter, although it isn’t the batter itself that is spilling over (it is rising nicely) the topping mixture is coming up and over the sides of the pan.  All I can do at this point is put some foil to try and catch the dripping mess and try and get through the cooking time….right?  No, HUGE mistake!!!  My apartment is now filling up with thick smoke, I go back to the oven and open the door.  FLAMES, BIG FLAMES are billowing throughout the oven and down the now opened oven door.  I’m so not exaggerating.  I stood looking at my flaming oven in total shock. The smoke detector is not only beeping very loudly it is also screaming FIRE, ALERT, FIRE, ALERT, over and over and over.  Some sort of thought like call the fire department went through my mind briefly.  I then grabbed the bag of flour and threw a bunch of it toward the flames which put it out.  This is what the experts say to do when you have an oven fire, NOT WATER, which I may have forgotten for a moment.  Anyway, I couldn’t believe it caused those kind of flames…..then I remembered, alcohol, oh yeah.  I then pulled out my half baked cake, turned the oven off to let it cool and began to air out my apartment.  After the oven was completely cooled, I then had to clean it out so I could finish baking my cake (from hell).  Sticky, burnt on drippings covered with about three cups of flour….what fun….and all of this before 9:00am.  Nobody should ever have to clean an oven before 9:00am or ever for that matter!

So my dearies, here are a few precautions to take before you start baking this cake.  First, do not use all of this batter.  I would use about half and maybe make some cupcakes with the remaining batter.  I also recommend you place not one but two sheets of foil on the bottom rack so if it begins to drip you can remove one before it starts to smoke and still have another to catch spills.  Just please use caution!

I had an after thought, just like bananas foster, this dessert (in a very unexpected way) was also flambe’d.  Don’t try this at home!  ENJOY!

BANANAS FOSTER UPSIDE DOWN CAKE

Topping

1/3 c butter

1 c light brown sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp rum extract or 2 tbsp light rum

3 c bananas cut 1/3 inch thick

Melt butter in a 10-inch cast iron skillet over low heat.  Remove skillet from heat and with a fork stir in the brown sugar, cinnamon and rum.  Spread mixture evenly in skillet and arrange bananas over top.  Pour batter (below) over the top. Bake @ 350F until it rises and springs back when touched.  About 43-47 minutes.  Remove from oven and run a sharp knife around edges.  Invert skillet onto a heat proof serving plate.  Serve warm with ice cream or whipping cream. This reciped found @ www.thatsmyhome.com .

GOLDEN VANILLA CAKE

2 3/4 c flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

2 c sugar

4 large eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

1 1/3 c milk

Preheat oven to 350F.  Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  With mixer on low speed, alternately add the dry ingredients and the milk, just until incorporated.

9×13  32-36 minutes

2 8″ rounds  32-36 minutes

2 9″ rounds  27-31 minutes

bundt pan   37-41 minutes

24 cupcakes  18-22 minutes

Always grease and flour pans.

The batter for this Golden Vanilla Cake is from The Sugared Pecan.

12 Responses to “Bananas Foster Upside Down Cake”

  1. Sue January 28, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Oh, trust me, I’ve had those type of disasters! Glad it turned out okay in the end.

    • sugaredpecan January 28, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      Thanks Sue, glad I’m not the only one. I think it could have been a little prettier but considering all that the poor thing went through I guess it turned out okay. Donna

  2. delicio8 January 28, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Oh I’m so sorry! But your story cracked me up. I think what finally took me over the edge of laughter was that it was before 9AM!!! I thought I was the only one that had disasters but they are usually of the “Oh, this tastes horrible!” variety, not the “Oh I’m burning down my kitchen”…yet….:)

    • sugaredpecan January 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

      Lets knock on wood…huh? I have had the “taste horrible” kind too! Just another learning experience I suppose, lol. Donna

  3. Sherry Burks Gardner January 30, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Read the story that goes along with making this dish!! Hilarious!

    • sugaredpecan January 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

      I can laugh now! Then, not so much…lol. Donna

  4. Dust With Flour January 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    This post brought back memories for me of the first time I made dinner for my late husband’s parents. We had a tiny apartment in New Orleans and I made charcoal out of some garlic bread. My father-in-law had to pull the bread out and douse it with water in the sink. That was the last time I made them dinner. The cake does sound lovely, though {minus the fire}. I made an upside down pear-gingerbread the other day, but I haven’t gotten it posted yet.

    • sugaredpecan January 31, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

      Oooo, can’t wait for that, sounds yummy!!!! Donna

  5. Simply Tia February 2, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Poor thing. Luckily you weren’t hurt in all this commotion. Hehehe.

    The cake looks wonderful!

    • sugaredpecan February 2, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      Thanks Tia, this poor little cake went through a lot…..me too!

  6. Sue February 9, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    The first time I made cherry pie, I made it with fresh cherries. I didn’t pit them :( (The recipe didn’t tell me too. LOL) And there was the time my applesauce exploded all over the kitchen ceiling and then—I better stop now!

    • sugaredpecan February 9, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      Oh Sue, that is too funny!!! I’m so glad to know I am not alone when it comes to kitchen disasters! I too have a few more that I could share but I have a feeling there will future disasters that will be entertainment enough!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

