Pumpkin Butter

7 Jan

Hi everyone!  Most of us remember having apple butter in the fridge growing up, but have you ever had the pleasure of tasting pumpkin butter?  Oh my goodness!  The first time I tried this it was like having dessert for breakfast.  What a treat!  It is pumpkin pie in a jar and what can be better than that?  The scent of warm, sugary, pumpkin pie spices are throughout my apartment making it seem as though I have been churning out pumpkin pies all night.  I promise it was much easier than all that!

All you will do is place all of the ingredients into the crock pot and wait.  Then you too will have all of this yummy, wonderfulness!

By the way, this will be great with last weeks challah.  So here is the recipe.  ENJOY!!!

With Love,

Donna

PUMPKIN BUTTER

1 29 oz can pumpkin

1 15 oz can pumpkin

1 c apple juice

2 c sugar

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp mace

Place all ingredients into the crock pot and give it a stir.  Loosely place the lid on top or leave it off altogether.  You do not want moisture to build inside.  You want the mixture to reduce and thicken.  Let it cook on low for 5-8 hours or overnight.  You can play around with the spices to your taste but remember the flavors will get stronger as it reduces.  This recipe makes about 4 cups.

This recipe was adapted from www.tablespoon.com.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Butter”

  1. Sherry Burks Gardner January 8, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    I so have all of this in the pantry and will be making this TODAY!!! The Challah gets eaten as quick as I make it, so I guess I better get to the store and pick up some more eggs to make more Challah also!

    • bhamgirl January 12, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Let me know if you have made the pumpkin butter and how you liked it! Donna

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

